Streaming Videos
Search the Library Catalog for Books or Videos
Periodicals List & MLA Citation Guides
English Resources
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides citations (no abstracts) to journals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore worldwide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete back runs of scholarly journals beginning with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective Index This link opens in a new windowA wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals including content from H.W. Wilson's International Index.
- Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new windowSo many primary source collections!
African American Communities, American Indian Newspapers, Apartheid South Africa, Church Missionary Society Periodicals , Defining Gender, East India Company, Eighteenth Century Drama, Eighteenth Century Journals Portal, Everyday Life and Women In America, c1800-1920, First World War Portal, Gender: Identity and Social Change, J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America, Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture - The History of Tourism, Literary Manuscripts, Literary Print Culture, London Low Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Race Relations in America, Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, Service Newspapers of World War II, Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007, The Grand Tour, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture: A Portal, Women in The National Archives, World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions - Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowComprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States reflecting history and culture.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world in the field of the humanities.
- OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new windowThe world's premier dictionary of the English language.
- American Literature2000 - present. ISSN: 0002-9831, 1527-2117
- American Quarterly1996-Present. ISSN: 0003-0678, 1080-6490
- Callaloo1995-Present. ISSN: 0161-2492, 1080-6512
- ELH Online1993-Present. ISSN: 0013-8304, 1080-6547.
- Huntington Library Quarterly2016-Present. ISSN: 0018-7895, 1544-399X.
- Modern Fiction Studies1985-Present. ISSN: 0026-7724, 1080-658X.
- PMLA. Publications of the Modern Language Association of America2002-Present. ISSN: 0030-8129, 1938-1530
- Sewanee Review2007-Present. ISSN: 0037-3052, 1934-421X.
- Shakespeare Quarterly2001-Present. ISSN: 0037-3222, 1538-3555.
**The Murray Library now supports MLA 9, as of August 2021.**
Writer's Reference - through Writer's Reference Course on Canvas
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
A wealth of diverse primary sources regarding American life and culture ranging from colonial times to the early 1900s including collections on African American Newspapers, Woman’s Suffrage, and Native Americans in History among others. - America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of early American newspapers from across the colonies/states.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. (1639-1800) This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, including agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans. Contains full text.
- Early American Imprints, Series II. (1801-1819) This link opens in a new windowCovering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States (1801-1819) including access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides with full text. Based on the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new windowThe world's premier dictionary of the English language.
- Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new windowSo many primary source collections!
African American Communities, American Indian Newspapers, Apartheid South Africa, Church Missionary Society Periodicals , Defining Gender, East India Company, Eighteenth Century Drama, Eighteenth Century Journals Portal, Everyday Life and Women In America, c1800-1920, First World War Portal, Gender: Identity and Social Change, J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America, Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture - The History of Tourism, Literary Manuscripts, Literary Print Culture, London Low Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Race Relations in America, Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, Service Newspapers of World War II, Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007, The Grand Tour, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture: A Portal, Women in The National Archives, World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
WorldCat (FirstSearch) - Cataloging items from 170 countries! Find books and the libraries that have them.
On the Shelves
PE1-3729 English (Old English, Dialects, Slang)
PM9001-9021 Secret languages
PN1-6790 Literature (General)
PN441-1009.5 Literary history
PN1010-1525 Poetry
PN1600-3307 Drama
PR1-9680 English literature
PS1-3576 American literature
PS8001-8599 Canadian literature
Other Areas to Browse
HD59 – Public Relations
GR – Folklore
ML – Literature on music
P87-96 – Human Communication
Ask me!
Sarah Myers
she/her/hers
Contact:
Murray Library, Behind Circulation
112A
Suite 3002
112A
Suite 3002
717.766.2511 x. 3590
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!