Research Guides: Popular Culture and Gender Studies: Home

Uses for Popular Culture and Gender Studies Research

Primary historical research
Set and clothing design in theatre for historical accuracy
Advertising and cultural norms (ex: portrayal of women and minorities, cigarettes)
Portrayal of women's roles and gender stereotypes within historical and cultural context
Portrayal of ethnic identity and stereotypes within historical and cultural context
Art and Design

Search all Library Collections at One Time

Other Online Resources

The Nineteenth Century in Print
This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress.

Popular Culture / Gender Studies Journals and Magazines

Browse through these historic journals to find primary documentation of popular culture and the role of women and minorities within society during a specific time period. To locate journals from the titles below, search for the journal title in Primo using the Journal Search

American Home
Print: 1942-1977.
Architecture and design.
Atlantic and Atlantic Monthly
Online: 1857-1901, 1983-Present.
Current events.
Better Homes and Gardens
Print: 1944-Present.
Depictions of home life, decorations, women's roles.
Christian Century
Print: 1943-Present. Online: 1946-Present.
Christianity and culture.
Christianity Today
Print: 1956-Present. Online: 1990-Present.
Christianity and culture.
Commonweal
Online: 1990-Present.
Lay Catholicism and culture.
Current History
Print: 1941-Present. Online: 2000-Present.
Ebony
Print: 1964-2016 Online: 1985-Present.
African-American culture.
Foreign Affairs
Online: 1922-Present.
Good Housekeeping
Print: 1934-Present. Online: 1996-Present.
Depicts home life and roles of women in society.
Harpers Magazine
Print: 1860-1863, 1894-1896, 1940-Present. Online: 1850-1899, 1992-2007.
Current events.
Journal of Home Economics
Online: 1909-1993.
Life
Print: 1936-1972, 1978-2000. Online: 1936-2000.
Current Events.
Ms
Print: 1996-Present (some issues missing)
Role of women and feminism in society.
Nature Magazine
Print: 1869-1894, 1912-1932, 1952 to present. Online: 1997-2015
Popular science.
Newsweek
Print: 1939-2012. Online: 1990-Present.
Current events, News.
Popular Science
1965-Present. Online: 2001-Present.
Redbook
Online: 1996-2018
Role of women in society.
Rolling Stone
Print: 1989-Present. Online: 1990-Present.
Popular music.
Saturday Evening Post
Print: 1951-Present. Online: 1931-Present.
Current events, Literature.
Scientific American
Online: 1846-1869, 2005-Present.
Popular science.
Sports Illustrated
Print: 1960-Present. Online: 1992-Present.
Athletics in society. Depictions of women in sport.
Time
Online: 1923-Present
Current events, News.
Vanity Fair
Print: 1913-1936, 1983, 1987 - 1988
Popular culture.
Vital Speeches of the Day
Online: 1934-Present.
Current events.

Search Databases and Indexes

Search these databases to find articles from magazines or journals about popular culture and gender studies. In particular, the Readers Guide database allows you to search for magazine articles that were popular in the past.

Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States reflecting history and culture.
• Coverage dates: 1890-1982

• Contains: Abstracts and indexing with links to full-text
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
• Coverage dates: 1970-present

• Contains: Full-text
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
• Coverage dates: 1990-present

• Contains: Full text.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective Index This link opens in a new window
A wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals including content from H.W. Wilson's International Index.
• Coverage dates: 1907-1984

• Citations and links to full-text
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Informative abstracts for journals dating back to 1895, as well as monographs, conference papers, and other sources related to the social sciences.
• Coverage dates: 1895-present

• Contains: Full-text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of journals related to psychology.
• Coverage dates: 1887-present

• Contains: Abstracts and indexing with links to full-text.

PsycInfo Fact Sheet
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete back runs of scholarly journals beginning with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
• Coverage dates: Early 19th century-present

• Contains: Full-text.
New York Times (Historical, 1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
ATLA (Religion Index) This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 12,000 articles, essays and book reviews in religion and related fields.
• Coverage dates: 1949-present

• Contains: Citations and links to full-text