Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Don't Stick to Sports: The American Athlete's Fight Against Injustice by Call Number: GV706.5 .C39 2023ISBN: 9781538144718Publication Date: 2023
Featured Titles from the Library
Sport Management: the Basics by Call Number: GV713 .W55 2016ISBN: 9781138791169Publication Date: 2015
Sport Marketing Fifth Edition by Call Number: GV716 .M85 2022ISBN: 9781492594628Publication Date: 2022
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
APA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Cite Sources in AMA Style
AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Sport Management/Athletic Leadership Databases
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
All areas of communication, including marketing, public relations, social media, and more. - Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Database that provides many full text articles for virtually all subject areas related to business.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Essays, articles and more from experts exploring the multiple and contrasting viewpoints of controversial issues.
- ProQuest Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 1300 U.S. and international newspapers.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Featured Journal
- Street & Smith SportBusiness JournalCall Number: Online Journal and Periodical Stacks
Annotated Bibliography
Ask me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science Department
Other Online Resources
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.