Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by Call Number: RC684 .E9 A37 2022ISBN: 9781975150198Publication Date: 2022
The Complete Guide to Sports Nutrition (9th Edition) by Call Number: TX361 .A8 B395 2022ISBN: 9781472976949Publication Date: 2022
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
APA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Cite Sources in AMA Style
AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Cite in Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise format
Textbooks and Course Materials
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application 12th ed by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781266201882Publication Date: 2023
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260026504Publication Date: 2018
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $173
Basic Biomechanics 9th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260836981Publication Date: 2022
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803623521Publication Date: 2012
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $163
Photographic Dissector for Physical Therapy Students by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260457933Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $90
Databases/Journal Articles
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- AccessPhysiotherapy (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive textbooks, cases and exam prep for the physical therapy field.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new windowThousands of academic journals covering all areas of physical, health & life sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
Streaming Videos for Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science
- Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
The most extensive video collection ever assembled in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
- ICE Videos This link opens in a new window
A collection of authentic case studies with real-life assessment and treatment videos, featuring real-life patients focused on the field of occupational therapy.
Ask me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science Department
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.