Historical Newspapers
- Early American Newspapers, Series I. (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window
Collection of early colonial and national American newspapers formed by Isaiah Thomas' own collection and supplemented by nearly two million issues added by Thomas' successors at the American Antiquarian Society.
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
Diverse primary source materials that includes the following collections: African American Newspapers, Civil War Newspapers, Colonial Newspapers. - New York Times (Historical, 1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
Full access to each issue of the complete NYT.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Pennsylvania Digitized Newspapers DirectorySearchable newspapers available from Penn State
Statistics
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This general database allows for academic searches in any discipline in a variety of formats. Good for broad or interdisciplinary searches to kick off your research.
- Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew is a digital publisher of unique primary source collections from archives around the world.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Database of historical and government documents, including the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, the U.S. Reports, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, case law, world trials, foreign relations, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete back runs of scholarly journals beginning with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
Popular Historical Journals / Magazines
Browse through these historic journals to find primary documentation of popular culture and the role of women and minorities within society during a specific time period. To locate journals from the titles below, search for the journal title in Primo using the Journal Search
- American HomePrint: 1942-1977.
Architecture and design. - Atlantic and Atlantic MonthlyOnline: 1857-1901, 1983-Present.
Current events. - Better Homes and GardensPrint: 1944-Present.
Depictions of home life, decorations, women's roles. - Christian CenturyPrint: 1943-Present. Online: 1946-Present.
Christianity and culture. - Christianity TodayPrint: 1956-Present. Online: 1990-Present.
Christianity and culture. - CommonwealOnline: 1990-Present.
Lay Catholicism and culture. - Current HistoryPrint: 1941-Present. Online: 2000-Present.
- EbonyPrint: 1964-2016 Online: 1985-Present.
African-American culture. - Foreign AffairsOnline: 1922-Present.
- Good HousekeepingPrint: 1934-Present. Online: 1996-Present.
Depicts home life and roles of women in society. - Harpers MagazinePrint: 1860-1863, 1894-1896, 1940-Present. Online: 1850-1899, 1992-2007.
Current events. - Journal of Home EconomicsOnline: 1909-1993.
- LifePrint: 1936-1972, 1978-2000. Online: 1936-2000.
Current Events. - MsPrint: 1996-Present (some issues missing)
Role of women and feminism in society. - Nature MagazinePrint: 1869-1894, 1912-1932, 1952 to present. Online: 1997-2015
Popular science. - NewsweekPrint: 1939-2012. Online: 1990-Present.
Current events, News. - Popular Science1965-Present. Online: 2001-Present.
- RedbookOnline: 1996-2018
Role of women in society. - Rolling StonePrint: 1989-Present. Online: 1990-Present.
Popular music. - Saturday Evening PostPrint: 1951-Present. Online: 1931-Present.
Current events, Literature. - Scientific AmericanOnline: 1846-1869, 2005-Present.
Popular science. - Sports IllustratedPrint: 1960-Present. Online: 1992-Present.
Athletics in society. Depictions of women in sport. - TimeOnline: 1923-Present
Current events, News. - Vanity FairPrint: 1913-1936, 1983, 1987 - 1988
Popular culture. - Vital Speeches of the DayOnline: 1934-Present.
Current events.