A couple of tips as you proceed through the course.
1) If you wish to access a library near you (and you are not near Messiah), please feel free to touch base with Liz Kielley if you need a referral to that library or in some other way need a liaison with that library.
2) If you wish to use any of the hardcopy materials that Messiah's library has, you can have the library mail (UPS) them to you. Use the link below:
For this course (and most of your graduate courses in music), you will be using Chicago or Turabian style. (Turabian is basically Chicago Style but in more concise form.)
As you can read in Sampsel, some libraries have opted for "next generation" or "Web-scale" discovery access, which integrates searching for materials from many different sources, including other databases. Messiah has implemented a discovery system so that you can find materials, whether they are physically in the library or available online. You can also choose to search just for items in the library or go to a specific database.
There are 2 different versions of WorldCat available. Users may prefer the functionality or features of one over the other.
Each library subscribes to those indexes that most meet the needs of their researchers. It is possible that some of the indexes listed in this chapter of Sampsel will be available at a library near you. Be aware that, due to licensing restrictions, unless you are a cardholder at the library, you will probably need to physically go to the library to access the databases to which they subscribe.
Most music libraries or libraries with significant music collections include the thematic catalogs of major composers. These are primarily hardcopy (as opposed to digital). Murray Library, for example, has a number of those listed in Sampsel, such as those of Bach, Beethoven, and Schubert, plus others that Sampsel does not include. (The call number for these thematic catalogs is ML134 and they are often shelved in the library's reference section.)
The majority of the resources in this chapter are in hardcopy. Some are collections of works by major composers, while others are sets of scores for a given time period or place. The finding aids for tracking down specific pieces in the myriad volumes are also, for the most part, in hardcopy rather than digital form. Linked here are the few digital resources Sampsel includes.
(Note, that in addition to those listed by Sampsel, Murray Library has several E-book collections that offer a lot of useful content.)
DIGITAL STREAMING AUDIO