Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Growing and Sustaining Student-Centered Science Classrooms by Call Number: Q182.8 .S776 2023ISBN: 9781682537954Publication Date: 2023
Featured Books from the Library
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Call Number: Reference QH304 .M36 2012ISBN: 9780312649715Publication Date: 2011-12-07Classroom text for writing papers in Biology
The Blackwell Companion to Science and Christianity by Call Number: Online EbookISBN: 9781118256503Publication Date: 2012
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780028677170Publication Date: 2021
Other Online Resources
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health Information)This is the premier website for consumer health information. It contains authoritative health information written for the general public.
Cite Sources with CSE style
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Scientific Style and Format by Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Cite Sources with ASM Style
- Journal of BacteriologySearch within this journal for examples
Select Zotero
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Databases/Journal Articles
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowDatabase that includes over 65 bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers.
- Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new windowThousands of academic journals covering all areas of physical, health & life sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Searchable Ornithological Research Archives (SORA)Use this database to search for literature on birds.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Biological Sciences Department
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.