Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Inorganic Chemistry: Principles and Properties by Call Number: QD151.3 .M85 2024xISBN: 9789811281761Publication Date: 2024
Nobel Lectures: Chemistry, 2016-2020 by Call Number: QD39 .C4868 2024xISBN: 9789811260575Publication Date: 2024
Featured Books from the Library
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by Call Number: Online GuideISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2020- Preparing for your ACS examination in physical chemistry byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD456 .H65 2009xPublication Date: 2009
- Preparing for your ACS examination in general chemistry byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD42 .E83 1998Publication Date: 1998
- Preparing for your ACS examination in organic chemistry: The official guide byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD257 .P74 2020Publication Date: 2020
Student Study Guide/Solutions Manual for Organic Chemistry 4th edition 2014 by Call Number: Permanent Reserve QD253.2 .S652 2014xISBN: 9780077479824Publication Date: 2014
Student Study Guide/Solutions Manual for Organic Chemistry 6th edition 2019 by Call Number: Permanent Reserve QD253.2 .S633 2019xISBN: 9781260475678Publication Date: 2019
Calculations in Chemistry by Call Number: Permanent Reserve QD39.3.M3 D34 2013ISBN: 9780393912869Publication Date: 2012
Essential Algebra for Chemistry Students by Call Number: Permanent Reserve QA152.3 .B35 2006ISBN: 9780495013273Publication Date: 2005
Use Zotero
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Other Online Resources
- BioMed ExpertsSearch this database to determine the experts in a given biomedical field of study.
Databases/Journal Articles
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search leading journals in the Chemistry field by keyword or by drawing the chemical structure and access a wide diversity of research from other scientific disciplines.
All users must contact the Chemistry librarian, Beth Transue to register individually for the site. - American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the chemical and related sciences.
- Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
Thousands of academic journals covering all areas of physical, health & life sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
- ChemID PlusSearch for chemical based on specific properties or structure drawing, and then search the literature.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Handouts and Helps
- Searching the PubMed databaseTips for searching the PubMed database.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.