Welcome!
- Hello From Your LibrarianWelcome to Messiah University's Counseling Program. Watch this video to find out how I can help you and some helpful tips on searching in our databases.
Using PsycInfo on EBSCO
Searching Within a Specific Journal
- Searching Within a Specific JournalLearn how to find articles within a specific journal by using the library's discovery system, Primo.
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Counseling Video Databases
Psychology and Counseling Videos from Alexander Street Press presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new windowNearly 300 of the very best videos created by professionals in the field of psychotherapy for other professionals and students in the field.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Find Articles/List Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and related fields and describes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in nearly 30 languages. Includes PsycARTICLES database.
- Medline CompleteProvides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,000 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowMental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- Religion Index (ATLA) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 12,000 articles, essays and book reviews from more than 525 international journals in religion and related fields.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowInformative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
