Prepare for Professional Examinations
Anesthesia Oral Board Review by Call Number: RD82.3 .A47 2023xISBN: 9781107498310Publication Date: 2023- CDM Credentialing Exam: Study Guide 7th Edition byCall Number: RM217.2 .C36 2021xPublication Date: 2021
Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review, 4th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826135834Publication Date: 20219 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
National Physical Therapy Examination Review and Study Guide by Call Number: RM701.6 .O885 2020ISBN: 0990416283Publication Date: 2019
Next Generation NCLEX RN Examination Review Book 2023 - 2024 by Call Number: RT55 .N49 2023xISBN: 9781637757475Publication Date: 2023
Occupational Therapy Examination Review Guide by Call Number: RM735.32 .J642 2022xISBN: 9780803690189Publication Date: 2022
The Official Guide to the MCAT® Exam, Fifth Edition by Call Number: Main Stacks, R838.5 .O44 2017xISBN: 9781577541738Publication Date: 2017- Preparing for your ACS examination in general chemistry byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD42 .E83 1998Publication Date: 1998
- Preparing for your ACS examination in organic chemistry: The official guide byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD257 .P74 2020Publication Date: 2020
- Preparing for your ACS examination in physical chemistry byCall Number: Permanent Reserve: QD456 .H65 2009xPublication Date: 2009
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Call Number: RT55 .S485 2019xISBN: 0323358411Publication Date: 2019
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN Examination, 9th ed by Call Number: RT62 S558 2025ISBN: 9780443112874Publication Date: 2025
Study Guide for the Board of Certification, Inc. , Entry-Level Athletic Trainer Certification Examination by Call Number: RC1213 .R69 2020ISBN: 080366902XPublication Date: 2019
Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dietitians, 10th Edition by Call Number: RM217 .A44 2016xISBN: 9780880919708Publication Date: 2016
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Other Online Resources
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health Information)This is the premier website for consumer health information. It contains authoritative health information written for the general public.
Link to Preprofessional Programs
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Databases/Journal Articles
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.