Featured Books from the Library
Appropriate Technology Sourcebook by Call Number: LOCKED CASE T49.5 .A85 2002Publication Date: 2002This set of DVD contains more than 1,000 books about creating sustainable technology in developing countries and villages. This is an excellent resource to use when working on Collaboratory or Sustainability projects that will be used in an area with limited infrastructure.
Please ask for this item at the Circulation Desk. A circulation assistant will remove this item from the LOCKED CASE and check it out to you.
NOTE: To see the print index of AT, look in the main book stacks T49.5 .D37
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Call Number: GE10 .C65 2010ISBN: 9780313352614Publication Date: 2010
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Other Online Resources
Databases/Journal Articles
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowDatabase that includes over 65 bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources related to all aspect of anthropology including economics, culture, museums, and more.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowInformative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. This database is mobile-friendly. Download the EBSCO app.
- Library Catalog (search for books, videos)Search for Books, Videos. Suggested terms: Sustainability, Sustainable Development, Green Movement, Green Revolution, Environmental Policy
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
Ask me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Sustainability at Messiah College
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.