Research Guides: Art and Faith: Senior Seminar: Search for ARTICLES

Recommended Journals to Browse or Search

You can browse hardcopy issues of each journal below on the Library's periodical shelves, or you can search for specific topic in the databases next to the journal title (in parentheses)

Christianity and the Arts (Religion Index)

Faith & Form

Image: A Journal of the Arts & Religion (Religion Index; Humanities International Complete)

Religion and the arts (current year) Humanities International Complete)

SEEN : The Journal of CIVA, Christians in the Visual Arts

Also, you might be interested in these titles (and others) that we have only online:

Creative Spirit: A Journal of the Arts & Faith (Humanities International Complete)
Religion and the arts (Humanities International Complete)
Tikkun: A Jewish Magazine, An Interfaith Movement (has an art section)(Humanities International Complete)

Databases

ATLA (Religion Index) This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 12,000 articles, essays and book reviews in religion and related fields

Search SUBJECT Terms:
Art and religion
Christianity and the arts
Artists--Religious life
Aesthetics--Religious aspects--Christianity

ALSO try searching: Visual arts and worship
• Coverage dates: 1949-present

• Contains: Citations and links to full-text
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world in the field of the humanities.
• Coverage dates: 1985-present (some pre-1985)

• Contains: Citations and links to full-text.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Covers over 680 journals from more than 50 countries. Particularly good for articles on Aesthetics.
Publication dates covered: 1940-present
• Coverage dates: 1940-present
• Concurrent users: 1