Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Health Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest through statistics, reports, insights, forecasts, and more.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States byCall Number: Reference HA202 .P76Publication Date: Present Year
- United Nations Library - Public Health PublicationsBrowse public health materials from the United Nations
Databases/Journal Articles
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and book reviews related to education.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Informative abstracts for journals dating back to 1895, as well as monographs, conference papers, and other sources related to the social sciences.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Database that provides many full text articles for virtually all subject areas related to business.
Reearch Strategies
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.