Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Diet Impacts on Brain and Mind by Call Number: RC386.2 .S74 2023ISBN: 9781108719155Publication Date: 2023
Resolving the Cholesterol Controversy by Call Number: QP752 .C6 T46 2023ISBN: 9781800615878Publication Date: 2023
Featured Books from the Library
DRI: Dietary Reference Intakes by Call Number: Reference QP141 .D75 2006ISBN: 0309100917Publication Date: 2006
AND Nutrition Care Manual by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2005Limited to four users at a time. When finished using this resource, please be sure to Log Out- Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010-currentLimited to one user at a time. When finished please be sure to Log Out.
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice by Call Number: TX364 .C685 2021ISBN: 9781284168921Publication Date: 2020
Cite Sources in AMA Style
AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Nutrition Journals
Food TechnologyContact the Nutrition Librarian for the password to access this journal online. This journal is also available in print.
In the News
- Google NewsWhen reading medical news stories, look for citation information such as the journal name or the researcher (author). Then you can enter the information into the Citation Matcher below to find the actual research.
- Find Research Reported in the News (Citation Matcher)Find citation information from the news article such as the journal title, or the researcher (author). Enter the information you can find into the citation matcher search engine to read the actual research that the news is reporting.
- Sample News Story on the WebCan you find the pieces of the citation for this research within this health news article, and then find the actual research article in PubMed?
Databases/Journal Articles
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowReliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
Handouts and Helps
- PubMed InformationInformation about the PubMed database
Other Online Resources
- National Health and Nutrition Examination SurveyStatistics that assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Ask Me!
Beth Transue
Contact:
Information Literacy Librarian
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
717-691-6006 x3810
Website
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science Department
Padlet
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.