Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage 7th edition by Call Number: RM721 .F75 2020ISBN: 9780323661836Publication Date: 2020
Sport Injury Prevention: Anatomy by Call Number: RC1235 .P635 2023ISBN: 9781718208285Publication Date: 2023
Streaming Videos for Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science
- Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new windowThe most extensive video collection ever assembled in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
- ICE Videos This link opens in a new windowA collection of authentic case studies with real-life assessment and treatment videos, featuring real-life patients focused on the field of occupational therapy.
Use Zotero
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Cite Sources in AMA Style
-
AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
-
Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Citation Help
-
Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Textbooks and Course Materials
Cram Session in General Medical Conditions by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781556429484Publication Date: 2012
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $50
The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Medical Course & Step 1 Review, Second Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781259862632Publication Date: 2018
Big Picture Physiology-Medical Course and Step 1 Review by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260122503Publication Date: 2020
Exercise Prescription for Medical Conditions by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803617148Publication Date: 2010
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260026504Publication Date: 2018
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $219
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803623521Publication Date: 2012
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $163
Medical Terminology in a Flash! 4th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803689534Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $205
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $205
Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803639188Publication Date: 2015-01-30- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $220
Musculoskeletal Interventions: Techniques for Therapeutic Exercise, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260459951Publication Date: 2021- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention 7th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 1719641994Publication Date: 2022
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $260
- Medical Terminology in a Flash! 4th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803689534Publication Date: 2020
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $205
Emergency Care in Athletic Training by Call Number: Library ebookISBN: 1441636668Publication Date: 2010- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $205
Communication from the Inside Out by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803618770Publication Date: 2010- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $140
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $54
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $90
- Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention 7th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 1719641994Publication Date: 2022
- Musculoskeletal Interventions: Techniques for Therapeutic Exercise, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 9781260459951Publication Date: 2021-08-09
Therapeutic Modalities. Fourth Edition. by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 0803625936Publication Date: 2013
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $292
- Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803639188Publication Date: 2015-01-30
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $220
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $165
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $205
Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries 5th ed by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 0803690150Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $120
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $90
Kinesiology: Scientific Basis of Human Motion by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 0078022541Publication Date: 2011
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $367
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $90
- Principles of Athletic Training by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260570939Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $90
Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals 2nd ed by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803676121Publication Date: 2020
Study Guide for the Board of Certification, Athletic Trainer Certification Examination by Call Number: Online ebook OR Print RC1213 .R69 2020ISBN: 9780803669024Publication Date: 2020
Athletic Training Databases
- AccessPhysiotherapy (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides comprehensive textbooks, cases and exam prep for the physical therapy field.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for over 2500 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowReliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science Department
Prepare for the Athletic Trainer Certification Exam
Study Guide for the Board of Certification, Inc. , Entry-Level Athletic Trainer Certification Examination by Call Number: RC1213 .R69 2020ISBN: 080366902XPublication Date: 2019
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
-
Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
-
Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.