Use Zotero
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Cite Sources in AMA Style
AMA Manual of Style, 11th EDITION by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Textbooks and Course Materials
Medical Terminology in a Flash! 4th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803689534Publication Date: 2020
Musculoskeletal Interventions: Techniques for Therapeutic Exercise, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781260459951Publication Date: 2021
Principles of Athletic Training, 18th edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781266555862Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $277
Athletic Training Databases
- AccessPhysiotherapy (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive textbooks, cases and exam prep for the physical therapy field.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for over 2500 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Link to Health, Nutrition and Exercise Science Department
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.