Global South
The Global South is an emerging term to replace the term "third world" or "developing" countries. Global South does not refer to the geographical South and several countries included in this designation are located in the Northern Hemisphere. Countries in the Global South can be found in Africa, Asia, Caribbean and Latin America.
Country Information
- BBC News Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. - CIA FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- OECD Better Life IndexThis Index allows you to compare well-being across countries, based on 11 topics the OECD has identified as essential, in the areas of material living conditions and quality of life
- United Nations Country ProfilesThe United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. See below a list of countries and organizations which includes a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
- World Bank Countries DataGraph, map and compare more than 1,000 time series indicators from the World Development Indicators.
Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Informative abstracts for journals dating back to 1895, as well as monographs, conference papers, and other sources related to the social sciences.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources related to all aspect of anthropology including economics, culture, museums, and more.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world in the field of the humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete back runs of scholarly journals beginning with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
Books
International Social Work by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195301670Publication Date: 2008-03-28A comprehensive treatment of international social work, the book emphasizes global interdependence and professional action, themes that provide the context for an engaging examination of social work issues in a global perspective
Human Rights and Social Justice in a Global Perspective by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781306531559Publication Date: 2014-01-01this edition is examining how the changing physical environment impacts social work practice around the world
