Search all Library Collections at One Time
New Books in the Library
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by Call Number: RJ53 .O25 O22 2020ISBN: 9780323512633Publication Date: 2020
The Evidence-Based Practitioner: Applying Research to Meet Client Needs by Call Number: RM735.3 .B76 2017ISBN: 9780803643666Publication Date: 2017
OT Framework
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Online Students
- Request print books from Messiah Library CollectionGraduate and online students may request print books from Murray Library through this form as well. Please indicate that you are a graduate or online student when doing so.
Textbooks and Course Materials
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $100
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $183
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $100
Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy 2nd edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803640375Publication Date: 2017
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $105
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $83
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy 8th edition by Call Number: Online ebook and RM735 ,P34 2018ISBN: 9780323339285Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $226
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $100
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $100
Occupational Therapy in Community and Population Health Practice by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803675629Publication Date: 20203 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $88
- Pedretti's Occupational Therapy 8th edition by Call Number: Online ebook and RM735 ,P34 2018ISBN: 9780323339285Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $116
- Pedretti's Occupational Therapy 8th edition by Call Number: Online ebook and RM735 ,P34 2018ISBN: 9780323339285Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $116
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $85
- Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 5th edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781638220602Publication Date: 2023
- Pedretti's Occupational Therapy 8th edition by Call Number: Online ebook and RM735 ,P34 2018ISBN: 9780323339285Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $192
Foundations of Clinical Research. 4th ed. by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 0803661134Publication Date: 2020- Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy 2nd edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803640375Publication Date: 2017
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $225
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
Databases/Journal Articles
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowReliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowEssays, articles and more from experts exploring the multiple and contrasting viewpoints of controversial issues.
Streaming Videos
- ICE Videos This link opens in a new windowA collection of authentic case studies with real-life assessment and treatment videos, featuring real-life patients focused on the field of occupational therapy.
Health Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest through statistics, reports, insights, forecasts, and more.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States byCall Number: Reference HA202 .P76Publication Date: Present Year
- United Nations Library - Public Health PublicationsBrowse public health materials from the United Nations
Summary of Library Services for Graduate Students
Reference Assistance
- Email:library@messiah.edu
- Chat (reference library on duty): chat bar at bottom of most library pgaes
- Zoom video conferencing (by appointment)
Journal Articles
- Most articles are available full-text through library databases. Select a database such as CINAHL. Search. If available full-text simply download article in pdf or html format.
- Print articles: if the article is only available through a print journal, request the article through interlibrary loan form (ILLIAD). Clarify that you are an online student in the Notes field. We will scan the print article and email it to you.
- Articles not available in the library collection: request the article through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD)
Books
- E-books: Search for e-books in our ebrary collection. Most books can be downloaded to your computer or mobile device for two weeks.
- Print books: Request print books from Messiah's library collection through the Book Request form. We will mail the book to your home. You are responsible for mailing the book back; we recommend that you insure the package in case it gets lost in the mail.
- Books not in the library collection: Request books through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD). We will mail the books to you. You are responsible for mailing the book back to our library; we recommend that you insure the package.
- You might be able to use a local library. If you live in Pennsylvania, you can use libraries within a cooperative group as a Messiah student by showing your student ID card. Check with your local public, academic or medical library for their guest policies.
Handouts and Helps
Ask Me!
Beth Transue
Contact:
Information Literacy Librarian
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
717-691-6006 x3810
Website
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Link to Occupational Therapy Program
Prepare for your NBCOT exam!
Occupational Therapy Examination Review Guide by Call Number: RM735.32 .J642 2022xISBN: 9780803690189Publication Date: 2022
OT Library Session
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
-
Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
-
Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.