Civics Resources: Home

Academic blog series for general audience that unpacks the American political system to help citizens become better informed and more deliberative in their roles as participants in the political system.

Non-profit, nonpartisan organization which researches, gathers and shares essential information about elections – candidates, issues and measures.

Non-profit, nonpartisan research organization that provides in-depth resources for competing perspectives on numerous issues.

By the National Constitution Center – Weekly podcast with multiple perspectives on historical and contemporary constitutional issues, moderated by president and CEO of the NCC, Jeffrey Rosen. The NCC is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization funded by Congress to help the public better understand the nation’s founding document, as well as its historical and contemporary relevance.

Nonpartisan, independent analysis of federal campaigns and elections, as well as political issues.

Non-profit, nonpartisan archive of electoral information across all levels of government, as well as coverage of current affairs to help citizens become and stay informed.

Provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution. This regularly updated resource is written in "plain English" and useful for a wide audience: from constitutional scholars to those just beginning to learn about the nation's most important legal document.

Official source of the agenda, legislative content and actions of the federal legislature.

Legislative information resource available to members of Congress and staff during all stages of policy-making process – issues, drafting, passage and implementation.

An independent government agency that provides research, analysis and recommendations to Congress on the various issues that it considers. The GAO also evaluates the effectiveness of government programming.

Official website of the United States Federal Court system, with access to information about the structure, records and reports.

Unofficial online summary of Supreme Court decisions since 1995, with some earlier decisions also included. Presented in accessible formats. Sponsored by academic and government funding.

List of major executive branch departments, offices and agencies.

Official source of the agenda, legislative content and actions of the Pennsylvania state legislature.

Official source of the Pennsylvania state judicial system, including system, cases, news and reports.

Official source of the Pennsylvania executive, including links to administrative agencies.

Bipartisan think tank that provides insights and policy recommendations on key issues.

Website for the Center for Responsive Politics, a non-profit, nonpartisan organization that provides information on the impact of financial influence in public policy.

Archive of government publications and related information for officials and the public.

Subscription-based, in-depth information and analysis on multiple perspectives of key issues.

Primary source materials on key historical and contemporary political issues for educators.

News articles framed by academic research, offered by JSTOR, a leading archive of premier academic articles.

Subscription-based respected news source for global issues.