It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular Culture and Gender Studies: Home
This page describes older journals, magazines and newspapers in the library that document popular culture and gender studies. Articles provide primary documentation of prevailing views of the time period, and visual evidence of popular culture.
Uses for Popular Culture and Gender Studies Research
Primary historical research
Set and clothing design in theatre for historical accuracy
Advertising and cultural norms (ex: portrayal of women and minorities, cigarettes)
Portrayal of women's roles and gender stereotypes within historical and cultural context
Portrayal of ethnic identity and stereotypes within historical and cultural context
Art and Design
Search all Library Collections at One Time
How to Find a Journal Article When You Know the Citation Information
If you have a journal article citation, but don't know if we have that specific journal, or don't know where the journal is online or in print, search the Journal Titles A-Z list.
This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress.
Popular Culture / Gender Studies Journals and Magazines
Browse through these historic journals to find primary documentation of popular culture and the role of women and minorities within society during a specific time period. To locate journals from the titles below, search for the journal title in the Periodicals List link in the "Do We Have a Specific Journal" box on the left.
Print: 1942-1977. Architecture and design.
Atlantic and Atlantic Monthly
Online: 1857-1901, 1983-Present.
Better Homes and Gardens
Print: 1944-Present. Depictions of home life, decorations, women's roles.
Print: 1943-Present. Online: 1946-Present. Christianity and culture.
Print: 1956-Present. Online: 1990-Present. Christianity and culture.
Lay Catholicism and culture.
Print: 1936-1972, 1978-2000. Online: 1936-2000.
Print: 1965-2001. Role of women in society.
Print: 1996-Present (some issues missing)
Role of women and feminism in society.
Print: 1865-Present. Online: 1975-Present. Current Events.
Print: 1869-1894, 1912-1932, 1952 to present. Online: 1997-2015
Print: 1939-2012. Online: 1990-Present. Current events, News.
1965-Present. Online: 2001-Present.
Role of women in society.
Print: 1989-Present. Online: 1990-Present. Popular music.
Saturday Evening Post
Print: 1951-Present. Online: 1931-Present. Current events, Literature.
Print: 1845-1859, 1927-Present. Online: 1846-1869, 2005-Present. Popular science.
Print: 1960-Present. Online: 1992-Present. Athletics in society. Depictions of women in sport.
Current events, News.
Print: 1913-1936, 1983, 1987 - 1988
Vital Speeches of the Day
Online: 1934-Present. Current events.
Search Databases and Indexes
Search these databases to find articles from magazines or journals about popular culture and gender studies. In particular, the Readers Guide database allows you to search for magazine articles that were popular in the past.
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and NGO, government and special reports.
Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included.
Informative abstracts for more than 590 'core' coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 'priority' coverage journals as well as 1,040 'selective' coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.