Featured Books from the Library
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals: Models and Guidelines, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781948057899Publication Date: 2022
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice: Implementation and Translation by Call Number: Ebook from EbraryISBN: 9781935476269Publication Date: 2010
Implementing Evidence-Based Practice: Real-Life Success Stories by Call Number: Ebook in ebraryISBN: 9781935476689Publication Date: 2011
Search ALL library resources at one time
- Nursing e-book collection This link opens in a new window
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAPA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Citation Help
-
Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Annotated Bibliography
Featured Journal Article about Research Roundtable
This journal article in the scholarly publication, Clinical Nurse Specialist, describes the research roundtable partnership between Pinnacle Health and Messiah College nursing program that is used to educate practicing nurses and nursing students about bring evidence-based practice to real-life situations. You must request this article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD).
Search for Primary Research Studies and Reviews
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
Search for Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowReliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- PubMed HealthThis database searches for systematic reviews in PubMed and organizes them.
Search for Guidelines
Other Online Resources
- American Nurses Association Research ToolkitThis Research Toolkit offers an introduction to research and evidence-based practice. It provides access to numerous resources to translate evidence into practice and to support nurse researchers.
- Evidence-Based Practice: Step by StepThis collection of 12 articles is a problem-solving approach to the delivery of health care that integrates the best evidence from studies and patient care data with clinician expertise and patient preferences and values.
- Evidence-Based Practice TutorialThis tutorial created by Penn State Hershey Medical Center walks the student through the process of evidence-based practice.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Library Worksheets
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
-
Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
-
Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.