Search ALL library resources at one time
- Nursing e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New Books in the Library
Relational Health: How Social Connection Impacts Our Physical and Mental Wellbeing by Call Number: RA644.5 .R53 2023ISBN: 9781316515570Publication Date: 2023
Featured Titles from the Library
Betty Neuman: The Neuman System Model by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803948624Publication Date: 1993This book describes the theory of the Neuman systems model of nursing care.
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
APA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Databases/Journal Articles
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowPoint of care medical database. Authorized individuals must create individual accounts. Contact the liaison librarian with any questions.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowReliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowEssays, articles and more from experts exploring the multiple and contrasting viewpoints of controversial issues.
Health Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest through statistics, reports, insights, forecasts, and more.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowUses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States byCall Number: Reference HA202 .P76Publication Date: Present Year
- United Nations Library - Public Health PublicationsBrowse public health materials from the United Nations
Other Online Resources
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative MedicineThis website is published by the National Institute of Health. It includes evidence-based information about alternative and complementary medicine.
- Bioethics Research LibrarySearch this library at Georgetown University for literature on medical ethics.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health Information)This is the premier website for consumer health information. It contains authoritative health information written for the general public.
- Health Literacy Measurement ToolsSearch this database to discover tools to measure patient and public health literacy levels about many topics
- EthnoMedRecommendations for providing culturally competent care
- CDC WonderAnalysis of public health data and statistics
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Ask a librarian
Librarians can help you:
- plan your research strategy
- brainstorm, focus, broaden, or clarify your research topic
- guide you to the right sources
- get your materials through ILL or online
- evaluate credible, scholarly information
- properly cite your sources
- make recommendations of where else to look for information
- with technology issues (though we're not computer wizards)
Just ask!
Prepare for NCLEX
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Call Number: RT55 .S485 2019xISBN: 0323358411Publication Date: 2019
Next Generation NCLEX RN Examination Review Book 2023 - 2024 by Call Number: RT55 .N49 2023xISBN: 9781637757475Publication Date: 2023
Link to Nursing Department
Citation Example
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.