Search ALL library resources at one time
- Nursing e-book collection This link opens in a new window
New Books in the Library
Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty by Call Number: RT71 .T336 2023ISBN: 9780323846684Publication Date: 2023
Cite Sources in APA Style
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
APA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition by Call Number: Dictionary Stand BF76.7 .P83 2019ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019APA citation style
Journal article with doi example
Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242
Online Students
- Request print books from Messiah Library CollectionGraduate and online students may request print books from Murray Library through this form as well. Please indicate that you are a graduate or online student when doing so.
Other Online Resources for MSN
- Bioethics Research LibrarySearch this library at Georgetown University for literature on medical ethics.
- CDC WonderAnalysis of public health data and statistics
- Drugs, Supplements and Herbal InformationThis website from MedlinePlus contains comprehensive overview information of most prescription and OTC medications as well as nutritional supplements. The information includes dosage, side effects, precautions, and interactions.
- EthnoMedRecommendations for providing culturally competent care
- Jones & Bartlett Learning Companion Site for NURS501Must use access code provided by NURS501 instructor
- ShadowHealthFor assessment in NURS505
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health Information)This is the premier website for consumer health information. It contains authoritative health information written for the general public.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative MedicineThis website is published by the National Institute of Health. It includes evidence-based information about alternative and complementary medicine.
Citation Help
- Standard Abbreviations for Journal TitlesCSE and AMA citation style require journal titles to be abbreviated. APA citation style requires that journal titles be the complete title. Check this journal database from the National Library of Medicine to find the standard abbreviations or complete title used for the journal you are citing.
Annotated Bibliography
Textbooks and Course Materials
Stat-Spotting: a Field Guide to Identifying Dubious Data by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 1299841023Publication Date: 2013
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $30
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals: Models and Guidelines, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781948057899Publication Date: 2022
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $60
Formulating a differential diagnosis for the advanced practice provider by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826152237Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $75
Applying Conceptual Models of Nursing: Quality Improvement Research and Practice by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826180063Publication Date: 2017
Certified Nurse Educator (CNE) Review Manual. 3rd ed. by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826161659Publication Date: 20179 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions.
Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 9780826119629Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826131850Publication Date: 2017
Fast Facts for the Classroom Nursing Instructor by Call Number: Online E-bookISBN: 9780826110169Publication Date: 2012
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780335242283Publication Date: 2012- Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals: Models and Guidelines, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781948057899Publication Date: 2022
Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence-Based Practice by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781118691373Publication Date: 2010
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 0826122884Publication Date: 2014
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $566
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826148940Publication Date: 20219 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $127
Evaluation of Health Care Quality for DNPs by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826131577Publication Date: 20173 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Transformational Leadership in Nursing by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826135049Publication Date: 20203 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $151
Fast Facts for Health Promotion in Nursing by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826110541Publication Date: 2013
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $35
Genetics and Genomics in Nursing and Health Care, 2nd ed by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780803660830Publication Date: 2018
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $95
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance, 7th ed by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781640551862Publication Date: 2020
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $222
Bright Futures: Guidelines Pocket Guide by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781610020831Publication Date: 2017
Fast Facts for Pediatric Primary Care by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826151834Publication Date: 2021- Formulating a differential diagnosis for the advanced practice provider by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826152237Publication Date: 20183 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions.
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $320
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP, 2ndEdition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826142771Publication Date: 20186 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions- Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals: Models and Guidelines, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9781948057899Publication Date: 2022
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826170613Publication Date: 2017- Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects by Call Number: Online ebookISBN: 9780826148940Publication Date: 20219 simultaneous users allowed at one time. Contact the librarian with access questions
Textbook cost savings for this course through using library e-books = $350
Databases/Journal Articles
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care medical database. Authorized individuals must create individual accounts. Contact the liaison librarian with any questions.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and book reviews related to education.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reliable and up-to-date information and evidence on the effects of interventions in health care to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Essays, articles and more from experts exploring the multiple and contrasting viewpoints of controversial issues.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Database that provides many full text articles for virtually all subject areas related to business.
Health Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest through statistics, reports, insights, forecasts, and more.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to display a variety of data reflecting the United States through custom layered demographic maps, tables, reports, and analytics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States byCall Number: Reference HA202 .P76Publication Date: Present Year
- United Nations Library - Public Health PublicationsBrowse public health materials from the United Nations
Find Tests and Assessment Measures
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- Test Link at ETSDatabase of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices
- Health Literacy Measurement ToolsSearch this database to discover tools to measure patient and public health literacy levels about many topics
Summary of Library Services for Graduate Students
Reference Assistance
- Email:library@messiah.edu
- Chat (reference library on duty): chat bar at bottom of most library pgaes
- Zoom video conferencing (by appointment)
Journal Articles
- Most articles are available full-text through library databases. Select a database such as CINAHL. Search. If available full-text simply download article in pdf or html format.
- Print articles: if the article is only available through a print journal, request the article through interlibrary loan form (ILLIAD). Clarify that you are an online student in the Notes field. We will scan the print article and email it to you.
- Articles not available in the library collection: request the article through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD)
Books
- E-books: Search for e-books in our ebrary collection. Most books can be downloaded to your computer or mobile device for two weeks.
- Print books: Request print books from Messiah's library collection through the Book Request form. We will mail the book to your home. You are responsible for mailing the book back; we recommend that you insure the package in case it gets lost in the mail.
- Books not in the library collection: Request books through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD). We will mail the books to you. You are responsible for mailing the book back to our library; we recommend that you insure the package.
- You might be able to use a local library. If you live in Pennsylvania, you can use libraries within a cooperative group as a Messiah student by showing your student ID card. Check with your local public, academic or medical library for their guest policies.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Link to Nursing
Mobile Apps
Do you use an ipad or other mobile device for academic work?
Check out this page for recommended apps!
Mobile Apps Specifically for DNP
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.