Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition and Dietetics: Dietetic Internship

Use this guide for general research related to classes in the Nutrition and Dietetics department.

Featured Books from the Library

Search the Library Catalog for Books or Videos

Online Students

Cite Sources in APA Style

Journal article with doi example

Rosenfeld, N., & Steffens, J. (2019). Effects of audiovisual congruency on perceived emotions in film. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 29(4), 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1037/pmu0000242

How to Find a Journal Article When You Know the Citation Information

If you have a journal article citation, but don't know if we have that specific journal, or don't know where the journal is online or in print, search the Journal Titles A-Z list.

Citation Help

Nutrition Journals

Databases/Journal Articles

Summary of Library Services for Graduate Students

Reference Assistance

  • Email:library@messiah.edu
  • Chat (reference library on duty): chat bar at bottom of most library pgaes
  • Zoom video conferencing (by appointment)

Journal Articles

  • Most articles are available full-text through library databases. Select a database such as CINAHL. Search. If available full-text simply download article in pdf or html format.
  • Print articles: if the article is only available through a print journal, request the article through interlibrary loan form (ILLIAD). Clarify that you are an online student in the Notes field. We will scan the print article and email it to you.
  • Articles not available in the library collection: request the article through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD)

Books

  • E-books: Search for e-books in our ebrary collection. Most books can be downloaded to your computer or mobile device for two weeks.
  • Print books: Request print books from Messiah's library collection through the Book Request form. We will mail the book to your home. You are responsible for mailing the book back; we recommend that you insure the package in case it gets lost in the mail.
  • Books not in the library collection: Request books through interlibrary loan (ILLIAD). We will mail the books to you. You are responsible for mailing the book back to our library; we recommend that you insure the package.
  • You might be able to use a local library. If you live in Pennsylvania, you can use libraries within a cooperative group as a Messiah student by showing your student ID card. Check with your local public, academic or medical library for their guest policies.

 

Other Online Resources

Ask Me!

Beth Transue's picture
Beth Transue
Contact:
Information Literacy Librarian
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
717-691-6006 x3810

Link to Dietetic Internship Office

Prepare for the Examination for Registered Dieticians

Beware of Predatory Journal Articles

Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.

It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.