Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Politics and International Relations: POLI 213

Resources

Search Primo for books, ebooks, articles, and more. *There is a separate search for U.S. & international newspapers.

Searching Tips

Exact Phrase Searching

Exact phrase searching limits your search to multiple terms in the precise order specified. For example, searching for "United Kingdom" will only find results that include those three words side by side and in that order.

Wildcard Searching

Search terms can include a wildcard at the end. The wildcard character is the asterisk (*). For example, to retrieve results that contain the words democracy and democratic, enter democra* in the search box.

Citation Trails

This is an exploration tool that helps users find related articles and explore the topic further. You will not always see citation trails, but if citations are available, you can view related citations that are either cited in the record   in your results list or which cite the record  in your results list.

Search like a pro in Primo!

  1. Create an Effective Search Strategy (6 min)
  2. Narrow and Evaluate Results (5 min)
  3. Follow the Citation Trail (3 min)

CIA World Fact Book

Annual Publication of the CIA, provides statistical and text data on all the nations of the world - political, social, economic, and demographic.

Nations of the World

Prepared by the Law Library of Congress, includes links to free online resources regarding information on a country's constitution; executive, legislative and judicial branches; legal guides; and general sources.

UNdata

Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Includes links to the key statistical agencies of individual countries.

PARLINE Database on National Parliaments

PARLINE is the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) database on national parliaments. It contains authoritative information on the structure and working methods of every national parliament.

World Development Indicators

WDI is a database of global information and statistics compiled yearly.

Background Notes

Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states. US State Dept.

Country Studies

Describes and analyzes the historical setting and the social, economic, political systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Library of Congress.

Freedom House

Assesses political rights and civil liberties. By country.

Political Database of the Americas

Sponsored by the Georgetown University Center for Latin American Studies, the Political Database of the Americas contains information on the institutional, constitutional and political structures of the region. The main objective of the Database project is the development of a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information accessible throughout the Hemisphere and world via the World Wide Web. Covers 35 countries in North and South America.

Voter Turnout from 1945 to Date: A Global Report on Political Participation

Published by the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance in Sweden, this report "contains the most comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available. Regularly updated voter turnout figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 are presented country by country, using both the number of registered voters and voting age population as indicators."

Comparative Political Data Set

The "Comparative Political Data Set" (CPDS) is a collection of political and institutional country-level data provided by Prof. Dr. Klaus Armingeon and collaborators at the University of Berne. It consists of annual data for 36 democratic countries for the period of 1960 to 2017 or since their transition to democracy.

United Nations Library

The Library of the United Nations. Many resources are available related to the functions and research needs of the UN.

UN iLibrary

UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices

U.S. Dept of State annual reports to Congress on the status of internationally recognized human rights practices per country. Online archive from 1999-present.

Country Reports on Religious Freedom

Describes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world.

Country Reports on Terrorism

Reports on where terrorist acts have occurred, state sponsorship of terrorism and assessments of terrorist groups.

Polity IV Project

The Polity conceptual scheme is unique in that it examines concomitant qualities of democratic and autocratic authority in governing institutions, rather than discreet and mutually exclusive forms of governance. This perspective envisions a spectrum of governing authority that spans from fully institutionalized autocracies through mixed, or incoherent, authority regimes (termed "anocracies") to fully institutionalized democracies.

World Values Survey

Survey of 100 countries gathering information on economic development, democratization, religion, gender, well-being, and other topics. Coverage 1981-2014.

Open CRS

The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues.

US State Department A-Z Nations of the World

Factsheet, policy, and updates on individual nations.

This course uses Chicago author-date style.

Notes from Class

Identify at least 10 sources that allow you to evaluate:

  • The nature and function of democracy in your assigned country 
  • Assess the evidence of relationship between the factors influencing the function of democracy.