Politics and International Relations: Selected Resources

Search by Topic Area

(Hudson Center)

(dLOC)

For a description of this resource from the Library of Congress, copy the link below into a browser.
https://hlasopac.loc.gov/vwebv/ui/en_US/htdocs/help/index.html

Latin American Network Information Center

LatAmEconomy.org is the latest evolution of the annual Latin American Economic Outlook report, essentially bringing its trusted, high quality content into the digital age. Its wide country coverage and methods of analysis are essential for anyone seeking to understand the economic, social and political developments of Latin American countries.

(LAPOP)

University of Pittsburgh

(Annual public opinion survey)

(ECLAC)

USAID leads international development and humanitarian efforts to save lives, reduce poverty, strengthen democratic governance and help people progress beyond assistance.

One of the largest online public archives of the American presidency, spanning 1789-2015. The greatest strength of the site is supporting searches across presidencies, allowing users to compile data from well over 100,000 presidential documents.

American taxpayers spend over $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain.

Electoral college, campaign finance, primaries.

Worldwide.

illuminates the connection between campaign donations and legislative votes

Explore the U.S. Constitution.

tracks politician's spending.

(ICG)

Some audio and video.

Tracks government spending.

Compilation of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.

Materials range from general information on the federal judiciary, rules and policies, and federal judges to valuable statistics, forms and fees, and access to federal court records.

The Resources tab is especially informative.

Open States gathers data from the official legislative sites of the 50 states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico; provides hyperlinked source information; and updates data nightly. It offers comparative searches nationwide by subject or by legislator, a browse feature by individual state, and a box for searching hometown addresses.

Guide to legislators & legislation.

2011

Politics and money

Campaigns, finances, etc.

American Memory Project

Worldwide.

Provides an overview of U.S. relations as well as embassy and ambassador information.

"Our Mission is to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society. Our Core Values are: transparency, accountability, integrity, solidarity, courage, justice and democracy."

CRS, 2019

CRS, 2016

World's largest collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.

Official website for searching U.S. Government

Gateway to government information.

Full-text

Google Scholar

Findlaw

Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Investigative journalism with a moral force.

Public Agenda works to strengthen democracy and expand opportunity in America by fostering thoughtful public opinion, meaningful public participation and responsive public institutions.

University of Michigan

World-wide statistics on many subjects.