Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theatre and Dance
Theatre History 1
Search this Guide
Theatre and Dance: Theatre History 1
Theatre History 1
Classical and Ancient Theater
Buy Scripts & more
How to Find Plays and Play Scenes, Monologues, Dialogues and more
Indonesian Theatre and Dance (incl. Java, Bali)
Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance: Indonesia
Indonesian Traditional Dance
Indonesian Rod Puppets: Wayeng Golek (Asian Art Museum, San Francisco)
Also links for Introduction to Indonesian Puppet Theater; Making Rod Puppets; and Indonesian Storytelling, and more.
Balinese Shadow Puppets (YouTube)
Shadow Play: Sacrifice of Bima, Part III (YouTube)
Indian Theatre And Dance
Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance: India
Sanskrit Dramas (book chapter)
Chapter in Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance (2010) by Jukka O. Miettinen
Sanskrit Drama by Arthur Berriedale Keith
Though complete book is not available, enough of this book is available online to be quite useful.
Iran—Ta’ziyeh (also spelled Ta'zieh or Ta'ziyah)
Iran: Taziyeh (Asia Society)
Ta’zieh Performance (article in Iran Review)
The Ta'zieh: Ritual Enactment of Persian Renewal
article in Theatre Journal
Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance: Japan
Theater and Music: From the Bakufu to the Beggar
Book chapter from Edo Culture: Daily Life and Diversions in Urban Japan, 1600-1868. Explores theater throughout the social strata from the poor to the ruling government.
Bunraku: The Puppet Theatre of Japan (Japanese Arts Council)
Kabuki for Everyone
While created for a popular rather than scholarly audience, this site also includes a number of links to other helpful sites for the study of Japanese theatre.
Bakufu Versus Kabuki
Though older, an excellent article setting context by addressing the early history of struggle of kabuki theater against the shogunate Tokugawa government.
Welcome to Edo
A site that helps set the historical context for kabuki by exploring 18th-century Edo (Tokyo). Use the site map to find the section “Tsukiji: A Visit to the Kabuki Theater.”
Noh and Kyogen
Search the Library Catalog
Try browsing the shelves in Call numbers PN2860 (Asian theatre) and PN2924 (Japanese theatre)
Also search the SUBJECTS:
No (not Noh) or No plays
Yoruba Ritual and Egungun Festival
The Arts of Egungun among Yoruba Peoples (article)
Article in African Arts journal
Yoruba Egungun Costume and Dance
A Yoruba Egungun (from Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection)
Extensive article on the festival as well as the costume.
Yoruba Gelede Masquerade
Yoruba Performance: Annotated Bibliography
Classical and Ancient Theatre
Perseus Digital Library Project (Tufts Univ.)
Ancient Theatre Archive
Jack Wolcott's Theatre History on the Web
Theatre History Web Sites (Jerry Bangham)
Note: While a good site overall, beware of dead links.
Didaskalia: The Journal for Ancient Performance (Searchable electronic journal)
Getty exhibition on Ancient Greek Theater
Miracle Plays and Mysteries (New Advent.org)
York Mystery Plays
York Corpus Christi Plays
Early Spanish Theatre
Festival of Moors and Christians
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Judith Chaffee's Commedia website
Boston University Theatre professor. Includes a helpful small bibliography.
Commedia dell' Arte (includes scripts in English)
Simple scenarios, intended for students needing suggestions about commedia plots.
Commedia dell'Arte: A Historical Overview (National Theatre Discover)
Improvistional theatre from early Commedia to the present.
Northwestern University Library's Commedia masks exhibit
Ask me, your librarian!
Human Development & Family Science
Women's / Gender Studies
Classical and Ancient Theater >>
Sep 22, 2021 3:42 PM
Login to LibApps