Featured Books from the Library
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by Call Number: Online GuideISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2020
Writing in the Biological Sciences by Call Number: QH304 .H64 2022ISBN: 9780197543580Publication Date: 2022
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Call Number: Reference QH304 .M36 2012ISBN: 9780312649715Publication Date: 2011-12-07Classroom text for writing papers in Biology
Primo: Search all Library Collections at One Time
Select Zotero
- Zotero BibIf you don't want to set up software, Zotero Bib allows you to enter doi or URL and the software will generate a bibliographic entry for copy and paste. This will help you cite sources but not manage them.
Faculty Research Projects
- Biological Sciences FacultyDescribes the research interests of faculty in the Department of Biological Sciences
- Chemistry and Biochemistry FacultyResearch in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Databases/Journal Articles
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search leading journals in the Chemistry field by keyword or by drawing the chemical structure and access a wide diversity of research from other scientific disciplines.
All users must contact the Chemistry librarian, Beth Transue to register individually for the site. - Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides full text over 2500 medical journals, many with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
Thousands of academic journals covering all areas of physical, health & life sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
Database that includes over 65 bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations related to athletic training, rehab, sport sociology, physical education, sport management, and more.
- arXiv - open access peer reviewed archivePhysics, Mathematics, Computer Science
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and some full text of journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
Handouts and Helps
- Searching the BioOne databaseTips for searching the BioOne database
- Searching the PubMed databaseTips for searching the PubMed database.
Ask Me!
Messiah University
Email: btransue@messiah.edu
Chat (MicrosoftTeams)
Videoconference by appointment (Zoom or MicrosoftTeams)
Beware of Predatory Journal Articles
Predatory journals are a growing problem in academic fields, and are becoming particularly problematic in the sciences. Unscrupulous publishers take advantage of open access models (publishing models that allow anyone to access journal content without paying subscription costs). However, they publish junk science with questionable methods, results and conclusions. This has the potential to negatively affect future research. The motivations are to make money off of unsuspecting authors by charging them to publish articles, or for authors to unethically increase their publication counts for prestige.
It is important to identify and screen out predatory publishers so that they do not corrupt your literature reviews and research. First, search only reputable library and professional databases such as Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, or Engineering Village. Predatory journals will show up in Google searches. Second, read all research with a critical eye. Read ABOUT the publication, not just the article itself. Ask faculty or a librarian if you are unsure whether an article comes from a reputable journal.
- Beall's List RevisedThis website contains a list of possible or probable predatory publishers and journals. If you have a question about whether a specific journal or publisher is predatory, this list is a good place to start. The original Beall's list was taken down in January 2017 due to pressure from predatory publishers. This revised list is maintained anonymously. Alternatively, the list can be found here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170112125427/https://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA list of some open access publishers devoted to quality control and peer review.