Research Guides: Library Collections: By Format: Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Resources

Dictionaries

OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
The world's premier dictionary of the English language.
• Coverage dates: Historical

• Full-text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster dictionary
LogosDictionary (hundreds of language dictionaries to/from English)
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Offers material to support differing views and help students develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia.

Encyclopedias (Subject Specific)

The reference collection at Murray Library is located beyond the Circulation Desk and the large display case. The collection is on the right side, before arriving to the Writing & Learning Center.

Reference includes:

Encyclopedias
Bibliographies
Biblical Commentaries
Specialized Maps
Dictionaries