Searching for German materials
Feature sites: General Gateways
Buying German books and DVDs
- Grant and Cutler (UK)British distributor specializing in western European language materials.
Finding Journal Articles
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides citations (no abstracts) to journals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore worldwide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete back runs of core scholarly journals, including German Quarterly and German Studies Review, New German Critique, The Modern Language Review, Die Unterrichtspraxis. Begins with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
- DigiZeitschriftenCitations in hundreds of German academic periodicals.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window(CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFor German popular culture, film, etc., check this database. Covers hundreds of journals.
German Dictionaries
- AlphaDictionary: GermanLinks to a number of general dictionaries as well as German dictionaries in special disciplines (e.g., chemistry; health)
