Education: Home

How do I...?

• Cite Sources (Style Guides)
• Cite the Bible
• Evaluate Web Resources
• Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
• Identify Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Journals
• Write a Literature Review

How do I find...?

• Book Reviews
• DVD & Videos
• Feature Films
• Journal articles if I already have the citation
• Journal Articles
• Statistics

The Library Catalog contains records for all print and ebooks.  Use the Location dropdown to narrow searches to Teaching Resources, Kits, Juvenile literature, or Ebooks.

Library Catalog

You can also search specific ebook collections individually:

This search quickly and easily searches ebooks found ONLY in EBSCO databases.

• Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education

  More than 400 entries from a broad range of topics related to multicultural education, including reducing bias, ensuring equity, and promoting understanding of the self and others.
• Encyclopedia of Special Education

  Practical, clinical, and research issues described by leading researchers and scholars in the field. Includes descriptions of special education in thirty-five countries.
• International Handbook of Research on Children's Literacy, Learning and Culture

  Current global knowledge related to the field of primary years literacy studies,
• Key concepts in education

  A-Z guide summarizing all the key terms, ideas and issues central to the study of educational theory today.

Newton's Apple Science

A great website full of science videos. Discover the fascinating science of the world around us with over 300 video clips. Browse the categories, or enter a question or a keyword in the search box.

Center for Early Childhood Education Videos

"The Center for Early Childhood Education is committed to sharing useful resources with early childhood teachers, administrators, researchers, trainers, and policymakers. The Center is developing a large archive of video footage young children, early childhood professionals engaged in teaching, and interviews with experts that can be used for specific research or training uses."--easternct.edu

Documentary Heaven

Documentary Heaven was set up early July 2009 to provide the public with a vast collection of documentaries spanning across every genre out there. They intend on continuously updating the site on a daily basis to bring you nothing but the very best.

Khan Academy

With a library of over 3,000 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 315 practice exercises, try these to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace.

M.I.T. World

MIT World is a free and open site that provides on demand video of significant public events at MIT. MIT World's video index contains more than 800 videos. Browse the videos.

PBS Video

Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.)

TED Talks

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Browse by topic, date, popularity and more to view videos. Anyone can browse TED Conversations, but to start or join a conversation, you'll need a free TED.com member account. Also check out the TED YouTube Channel.

• Search Journal Titles
• APA References List
• APA In-text Citations
• APA blog (search for answers)

APA References

Journal with DOI:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy

Journal without DOI:

DOIs may not always be available. In these cases, use a URL. Many academic journals provide stable URLs that function similarly to DOIs. These are preferable to ordinary URLs copied and pasted from the browser's address bar.

Article/Chapter in edited book:

Examples of In-text citations

Hilts (2002) reported that in 2001 a consumer group claimed that the medication was related to the deaths of 19 people.

In 2001, a consumer group claimed that the medication was related to the deaths of 19 people (Hilts, 2002).

The research noted that many health care providers “remain either in ignorance or outright denial about the health danger to the poor and the young” (Critser, 2003, p. 5).

Sibutramine suppresses appetite by blocking the reuptake of the neurotransmitters serotonin and norepinephrine in the brain (Yanovski & Yanovski, 2002, p. 594).

If you are directly quoting from a work, you will need to include the author, year of publication, and the page number for the reference (preceded by "p.").

If you are paraphrasing an idea from another work, you only have to make reference to the author and year of publication in your in-text reference, but APA guidelines encourage you to also provide the page number (although it is not required.)

Murray Library has several collections specifically dedicated to Education. Search the Library Catalog.

Near the Fiddlehead Forest study room, find the following collections arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification

• Kits (hands-on manipulatives for math and literacy development; puppets and musical instruments, too)
• Teaching Resources (lesson ideas, worksheets, professional development)
• Elementary and secondary textbooks
• Juvenile fiction and non-fiction (award winners, popular titles, and classics)
• Graphic novels and zines (award winners, popular titles, and indie picks)

In the Main Stacks collection (Lower Level), find research and history on educational topics. Locate using Library of Congress Call Numbers

• L Education (General)
• LA History of education
• LB Theory and practice of education
• LC Special aspects of education
• LD Individual institutions - United States
• P Linguistics - Second language acqusition

Can't find it? Use Interlibrary loan

Free Service! Get books and journal articles from other libraries. Articles can take anywhere between 12 hours to 1 week to arrive. Books can take between 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive by mail.

Use keywords instead of full sentences or questions

Because of how databases work, it is best to pick out key terms to search instead of a question or phrase. 

Use multiple search boxes

In databases, it often works better to use multiple search boxes, one box per key word or search term representing a different part of your topic or question. 

Use quotes around phrases

If you use a term that has multiple words in it, use quotation marks around the phrase to ensure that the database searches for it that way. “classroom management”

Use synonyms in multiple searches or use “OR”

You can expand your search by using synonyms in the same search box connected with the word “OR”. Example: elementary OR primary

Find alternative keywords or phrases for your concepts. Examine relevant abstracts or articles for alternative words, phrases and subject headings (if the database uses subject headings).

Search for all forms of a keyword

By using an asterisk symbol after the root of a word, you can have the database search for all potential endings to a word at the same time.

Example: vaccin* OR immuniz*
This will search for and find articles that have the word vaccine, vaccines, vaccination, vaccinating, vaccinated, OR the word immunize, immunizing, or immunization

Wildcards

Wildcards are useful for finding British and American spellings, for example: “behavio?r” in will find both behaviour and behavior.  There are sometimes different symbols to find a variable single character. For example, “wom#n” will find woman and also women.