Children's Literature Resources Guide
- Using the library catalog to find Educational items-Juvenile Books
-Teaching Resources
-DVDs/videos
- Children’s Books with No Copyright Restrictions for Read Aloud ActivitiesThese books can be freely read aloud, recorded, edited, or printed out. They are in the public domain.
Children's book awards
The Murray Library attempts to purchase all award-winning children's books. Check out the winners:
(John) Newbery Medal
Honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
(Randolph) Caldecott Medal
Honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award
Given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English, and subsequently translated into English.
(Pura) Belpré Medal
Honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal
Honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books.
(Robert F.) Sibert Informational Book Medal
Honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.
Children’s Literature Legacy Award
Honors an author or illustrator whose books have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.
Other Awards
Children's Lit Databases
Children's Literature Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowFind book reviews by searching within School Library Journal
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterature database that includes children's literature articles.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis general database allows for academic searches in any discipline in a variety of formats. Good for broad or interdisciplinary searches to kick off your research.
- Diverse BookFinderWe collect all depictions of Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) in mainstream picture books published or distributed in the U.S. since 2002. Our collection is uniquely comprehensive -- to serve research and education -- and uniquely accessible through most libraries -- to serve general use.
Ask me!
112A
Suite 3002