I'm looking for...
Find useful, succinct background information using online encyclopedias, which cover a variety of educational topics. Try the following databases:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Classroom Management vs. Classroom Discipline
Classroom management refers to the teacher's ability to direct, organize, and facilitate the learning environment and student behavior within a learning context. Curriculum and learning are influenced by how a teacher organizes and designs instruction and how he or she motivates and engages students. It includes the actions teachers take to create an environment that supports and facilitates both academic and social-emotional learning. [From Lassonde, C. A., & Lassonde. (2010). Classroom Management. In C. Kridel (Ed.), Encyclopedia of curriculum studies. Sage Publications. & , & (2006). Classroom management as a field of inquiry. In C. M.Evertson and C. S.Weinstein (Eds.), Handbook of classroom management: Research, practice, and contemporary issues (pp. 3–15). Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.]
Classroom discipline is predominantly understood as a form of regulation or control that aims to create and maintain order and that is associated with a whole host of strategies and practices. Schools and preschools put great emphasis on keeping order, and teachers also often rank classroom discipline as more important than teaching. Problems with school discipline are frequently seen by the public as the most serious issue confronting schools and are repeatedly portrayed in the media. The importance placed on classroom discipline has far-reaching consequences for children's identity formation and everyday life in schools. [From Millei, Z. (2020). Classroom discipline. In D. T. Cook (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of children and childhood studies. Sage UK.]
Classroom Management, on the Murray Library shelves:
Teaching Resources: Call Number 371 (Dewey Decimal)
Main Book Collection: Call Number: LB 3013 (Library of Congress)
Full Text Ebooks from Library Databases
SAGE Knowledge (ebooks) - 1,000+ relevant titles. Best Bet for Educational Topics.
EBSCO Ebooks - 700+ relevant titles
E-Book Central - hundreds of relevant titles.
Recommended Subject Terms
Use the following terms alone or in combination as a search to retrieve information related to classroom management, behavior management, and restorative justice.
Behavior disorders in children
Behavior modification
Behavior modification -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Classroom management
Classroom management -- Case studies
Classroom management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Classroom management -- United States
Discipline
Educational equalization
Effective teaching
Effective teaching -- United States
Problem children -- Education
Problem children -- Behavior modification
Problem youth -- Education
Problem youth -- Behavior modification
Restorative justice
Rewards and punishments in education
Rewards and punishments in education -- United States
School children -- United States Discipline
School children -- Discipline
School discipline
School discipline -- United States
School psychology
School psychology -- United States
School management and organization
School management and organization -- United States
Students -- United States Psychology
Teacher effectiveness -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Teacher-student relationships
Teacher-student relationships -- United States
Search Messiah Primo to search all online records at once. This is an excellent way to start searching. Use subject-specific databases like the ones below to deeply explore within your topic. If you cannot access an article, please submit a free interlibrary loan request.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Dept. of Education's abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, and more from early childhood to higher education.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and book reviews related to education.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 1600 full-text periodicals spanning the Humanities; Social Sciences; and Science, Technology, and Medicine, including some published by learned societies and institutions.
Messiah offers access to professional and educational streaming videos. For full length documentaries and shorter clips, try out the following. Messiah username/password needed to access:
Films on Demand - Classroom Management
Classroom Management Resources from:
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)
- National Education Association (NEA)
- National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
- American Psychological Association (APA)
- Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)
- PBS Learning Media (video clips)
Additional Online Resources:
5 Quick Tips for Secondary Classroom Management That Actually (I Promise You!) Work
Advice from a high school teacher with 6 years of experience.
Discusses various aspect of classroom management and how it is more than just rules.
Classroom Management: 4 Keys to Starting the Year off Right
Discusses rules, enforcement, and consequences organized into 4 Keys.
Classroom Management Strategies for Difficult Students
Long article from the Association for Meddle Level Education (AMLE)
Classroom Management Strategies for High School Teachers
Tips to improve high school class management skills that will help students to learn more effectively without distractions, bullying, or disrespect. From Resilient Educator website
Reducing Student-Behavior Problems: Notes From a High School Teacher
Advice from Education Week Teacher.
Six Classroom Management Tips Every Teacher Can Use
Classroom management tips to help teachers settle problems, or prevent them from occurring, so that they can spend more of the classroom hour on teaching and learning.
Website devoted to managing a classroom effectively.
Taming the Chaos: Eight High School Classroom Management Strategies That Work
From the Edmentum website which calls itself the "#1 Curriculum and Assessment Partner for Educators"
Understanding Three Key Classroom Management Theories
Brief descriptions of the classroom management theories of Skinner, Glasser, and Kohn.
From the We Are Teachers website, discusses some of the skills and techniques teachers use to manage their classrooms
Educators typically use APA Style (7th edition) for writing and research. Check out these tools for formatting references.
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
APA's authoritative solution to find tutorials, guides, and templates for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA style.
- ZoteroBib - References MakerZoteroBib is a free service that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style. *Not always accurate. Use with caution*
Get Searching!
Primo Search - Search books, articles, and media
Request Library Materials by Mail - Any remote, graduate students can request Murray Library materials to be mailed to your home. Free service.
Interlibrary Loan - Free service to retrieve books and articles not owned by Messiah
- Articles will be emailed as PDFs to your Messiah email account. Allow one week for delivery.
- Books will be delivered by UPS mail in 5-10 business days. Pre-paid return postage for all graduate students with US addresses.
Ask a Librarian - Sarah Myers
APA Citation Manual - APA examples for formatting reference pages and in-text citations. See green "Learn" tab.
ZBib - Bibliography & citation creator (you are responsible for double-checking accuracy)