Print Encyclopedias (Selected) - Christianity
Encyclopedia of Christianity by Call Number: REF BR95 .E47 2005ISBN: 0195223934Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Christianity by Call Number: REF BR95 .E8913ISBN: 0802824137Publication Date: 1999-2008Vol. 1-5
Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible by Call Number: REF BS440 .Z63 2009ISBN: 9780310241362Publication Date: 2009Vol. 1-5
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF BS440 .I6 1979ISBN: 0802881602Publication Date: 1979Vol. 1-4
Religion Past and Present by Call Number: REF BL31 .R4213ISBN: 9789004139794Publication Date: 2007-12-12
Selected Dictionaries/Christianity
Anchor Yale Bible DictionaryISBN: 0385193513
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the BibleCall Number: REF BS440 .N445ISBN: 0687054273Publication Date: 2006-12-01Vol. 1-5
Greek / Hebrew Lexicon
- Blue Letter BibleThe Lexiconc is an easy way to find the Greek and Hebrew terms for words you're interested in. For example, if you run a Lexiconc search for LOVE, the BLB will return a list of Hebrew words (Old Testament) that are sometimes translated as "love" followed by a Greek (New Testament) list of the same.
Exegetical / Language
NewTestament Studies
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionary
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary
- With over 7 million words of authoritative content, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary remains the gold standard reference for Biblical Studies. It is an unprecedented interfaith exploration of the Bible that is interdisciplinary in scope
- The first major Bible dictionary to be published in America in 30 years that includes six volumes of approximately 1,200 pages each
- More than 6,000 entries, 7,000,000 words, and nearly 1,000 contributors
- Endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites
- Articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text
- A richness of information unequaled in the history of biblical studies