Library Resources for General Education Curriculum: Ethics

Readings in Support of Learning Objective A:

Birch, Bruce C., et al. “A Two-Part Consensus.” Bible and Ethics in the Christian Life: A New Conversation, 3^rd ed., 1517 Media, 2018, pp. 3–12. [See Course Digital Reader Pack]

Hays, Richard B. The Moral Vision of the New Testament : Community, Cross, New Creation : A Contemporary Introduction to New Testament Ethics. 1^st ed., HarperSanFrancisco, 1996. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Kraybill, Donald B. The Upside-down Kingdom. 25^th anniversary ed., Herald Press, 2003. [Online and Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve] https://messiah.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MESSIAH_INST/11a2d8n/alma993633193406931

Other Readings to Support Learning Objective A:

Austin, Michael W and R. Douglas Geivett. Being Good: Christian Virtues for Everyday Life, Eerdmans, 2011. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Cone, James H. “Introduction.” “Biblical Revelation and Social Existence.” God of the Oppressed. Seabury Press, 1975. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Gilligan, Carol. “Moral Orientation and Moral Development.” The Feminist Philosophy Reader, edited by Alison Bailey and Chris Cuomo, McGraw-Hill, 2008, pp. 467-478. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Gutiérrez, Gustavo.”Different Responses.” A Theology of Liberation : History, Politics and Salvation. Orbis Books, 1973. pp. 53-61. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Hauerwas, Stanley. “The Servant Community: Christian Social Ethics.” The Peaceable Kingdom: A Primer in Christian Ethics. University of Notre Dame Press, 1983, pp. 96-115. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Hawerwas, Stanley and Samuel Wells. “Why Christian Ethics Was Invented.” The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics, John Wiley & Sons, 2011, pp. 28-28, http://ezproxy.messiah.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/messiah-ebooks/reader.action?docID=675233&ppg=46

Kant, Immanuel, et al. Groundwork for the Metaphysics of Morals, Preface and Chapter One. Yale University Press, 2002, https://doi.org/10.12987/9780300128154. http://ezproxy.messiah.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/messiah-ebooks/reader.action?docID=3420080&ppg=20

Keller, David. “A Brief Overview of Basic Ethical Theory.” Ethics in action : a case-based approach. Wiley-Blackwell, 2009, pp. 11-49. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Waldstein, Edmund. “The Good, the Highest Good, and the Common Good.” The Josias, 15 Feb. 2015, https://thejosias.com/2015/02/03/the-good-the-highest-good-and-the-common-good/

Wells, Samuel, et al. “Subversive Ethics.” “Ecclesial Ethics.” “Good Order.” [Chapters 6-8].  Introducing Christian Ethics. 2nd ed., Wiley Blackwell, 2017. https://messiah.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MESSIAH_INST/1tkeemr/alma9914086309906931

Wright, N. T. "What Am I Here For.” After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters, HarperOne, 2012, Chapter 1. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Readings in Support of Objective D and E:

Hunter, James Davison. “The Burden of Leadership: A Theology of Faithful Presence in Practice.” To Change the World. Oxford University Press, 2010, pp. 255-272. [See Course Digital Reader Pack]

Liz Kielley

Discovery and Metadata Librarian
e-mail address: ekielley@messiah.edu
Telephone: 717-691-6006 ext.3850

Liaison librarian for:

• Communication
• Counseling (Graduate)
• Human Development & Family Science
• Music
• Psychology, Criminal Justice & Sociology
• Social Work
• Theater & Dance
• Biblical Religious & Philosophical Studies
• Business

  ---

Sarah Myers
Public Services Librarian
e-mail address: smyers@messiah.edu
Telephone: 717-691-6006 ext.3590

Liaison librarian for:

• Art & Design
• Cocurricular & External Programs
• Education
• Engineering
• Graduate Education, Graduate Higher Education
• History, Politics & International Relations
• Language, Literature & Writing

Beth Transue
Information Literacy Librarian
e-mail address: btransue@messiah.edu
Telephone: 717-691-6006 ext.3810

Liaison librarian for:

• Athletic Training
• Biological Sciences
• Chemistry & Biochemistry
• Dietetic Internship
• Health, Nutrition & Exercise Science
• Computing, Mathematics & Physics
• Nursing (UG, ADP & Grad)
• Occupational Therapy
• Physical Therapy