Library Resources for General Education Curriculum: Interpreting the Bible

Anchor Yale Biblical Commentaries

• With over 7 million words of authoritative content, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary remains the gold standard reference for Biblical Studies. It is an unprecedented interfaith exploration of the Bible that is interdisciplinary in scope
• The first major Bible dictionary to be published in America in 30 years that includes six volumes of approximately 1,200 pages each
• More than 6,000 entries, 7,000,000 words, and nearly 1,000 contributors
• Endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites
• Articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text
• A richness of information unequaled in the history of biblical studies

Interpreting the Bible Common Readings

Achtemeier, Paul J.  “Two Contemporary Views Considered.”  Pp. 28-63 in Inspiration    and Authority: Nature and Function of Christian Scripture.  Peabody, Mass: Hendrickson, 1999. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Borg, Marcus J.  Reading the Bible Again for the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously but Not Literally.  San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 2001: 21-36 [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Boyd, Gregory A. and Paul R. Eddy.  Across the Spectrum: Understanding Issues in Evangelical Theology.  Grand Rapids: Baker, 2002, pp. 225-235. http://ezproxy.messiah.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/messiah-ebooks/reader.action?docID=5249027&ppg=225

Burgess, John P.  “A Piety of the Word.”  pp. 58-78 in Why Scripture Matters: Reading the Bible in a Time of Church Conflict.  Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1998. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Epp-Tiessen, Esther.  “Conquering the Land.”  Pages 62-74 in Under Vine and Fig Tree: Biblical Theologies of Land and the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict.  Edited by Alain Epp Weaver.  Telford, Pa.: Cascadia 2007. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Mueller, James R.  “The Place and Significance of the Apocrypha.”  Pp. 1005-1007 in The Oxford Study Bible: Revised English Bible with the Apocrypha.  Edited by M. Jack Suggs, Katharine Doob Sakenfeld, and James R. Mueller.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve] [BS192.16.A1 1992 .N48]

Say Pa, Anna May.  “Reading Ruth 3:1-5 from an Asian Woman’s Perspective.”  Pages 47-59 in Engaging the Bible in a Gendered World: An Introduction to Feminist Biblical Interpretation in Honor of Katharine Doob Sakenfeld.  Edited by Linda Day and Carolyn Pressler.  Louisville: Westminister John Knox, 2006. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Seibert, Eric A.  “Evaluating Disturbing Divine Behavior by the God Jesus Reveals: Toward a Christocentric Hermeneutic.”  Pp. 183-207 in Disturbing Divine Behavior: Troubling Old Testament Images of God.  Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2009. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Shanks, Hershel.  “The Biblical Minimalists: Expunging Ancient Israel’s Past.”  Bible Review 13 (June 1997): 32-39, 50-52. [Missing from library collection; Request through interlibrary loan]

Swartley, Willard M.  Slavery, Sabbath, War, and Women: Case Issues in Biblical Interpretation.  Scottdale, Pa.: Herald Press, 1983, [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve] https://messiah.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MESSIAH_INST/1tkeemr/alma9914183719906931

Warrior, Robert Allen. “A Native American Perspective: Canaanites, Cowboys, and Indians.”  Pages 235-241 in Voices from the Margin: Interpreting the Bible in the Third World.  3^rd edition.  Edited by R. S. Sugirtharajah.  Maryknoll, N. Y.: Orbis, 2006. Warrior, Robert Allen.  First published as “Canaanites, Cowboys, and             Indians: Deliverance, Conquest, and Liberation Theology Today,” in Christianity and Crisis 49 (1989): 261-65. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]

Wright, Christopher J. H.  The God I Don’t Understand: Reflections on Tough Questions of Faith. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2008, pp. 86-108. [Available in print library collection; Ask at Circulation Desk – Course Reserve]