Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections at Murray Library: Canadian Literature

This collection consists of literature by influential and notable Canadian authors such as Margaret Atwood, Rudy Wiebe, Robertson Davies, Leonard Cohen and Alice Munro. It is funded by grants from Friends of Murray Library. The library commits to purchasing the annual award winners of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, Governor General's Literary Awards, and the Writers'  Trust Fiction Prize.

The English liaison librarian is responsible for purchasing appropriate items for the collection with support from others, as needed. Items selected for purchase with Friends funds will be clearly identified in the ordering process. Technical Services is responsible for cataloging the
items and identifying them as belonging to the Canadian Literature Collection with a bookplate commissioned and funded by Friends.
Items in the Canadian Literature Collection are stored in the larger library collection; they are not stored separately. Items are cataloged according to the Canadian classification system, with the addition of a special subject heading of "Canadian Literature Collection" for easy identification and searching in the library catalog.

The books circulate according to standard circulation policies. Items purchased for the Canadian Literature Collection are primarily English, and monographs. Other formats and languages may be purchased as appropriate.

Items from the Canadian Literature Collection may be withdrawn from this collection at the discretion of the English liaison librarian. Inclusion of the item within the special collection will be considered as a factor against withdrawal, but does not mandate retention if other factors indicate a need for removal. The liaison librarian will consult with appropriate librarians and faculty as needed.

Circulation of this collection

This collection regularly circulates under the same terms as items in the Main Book Stacks. Clarification can be sought at the Circulation Desk.

Questions about this collection can be directed to Librarian Sarah Myers

Visit Murray Library

Visit & Contact Murray Library

GPS Address: 2850 Crestline Dr, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Mailing Address: 1 University Ave., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Phone: (717) 691-6006, ext. 3860

Website: www.Messiah.edu/Library

Parking:

  • General visitor parking is available in the Old Main parking lot (VV), on the side nearest to the Eisenhower Campus Center (College Ave).
  • Handicap parking is located to the side of the building between the library and Frey Hall. This is accessible by going around the back of the library building (Crestline Drive).

Library Hours

Summer Hours
(May 9 thru August 22)

Open Monday thru Friday, 9am 5pm
Closed Saturdays & Sundays

Modified Summer Hours
Tuesday, August 16......12pm 5pm
Friday, August 19...........8am 5pm

Regular Semester Hours
(begin August 23)

Monday................8:00am 11:00pm
Tuesday...............8:00am 11:00pm
Wednesday..........8:00am 11:00pm
Thursday..............8:00am 11:00pm
Friday....................8:00am 5:00pm

Saturday...............10:00am 6:00pm
Sunday.................2:00pm 11:00pm