Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections at Murray Library: Neidhardt Collection on Religion and Science

View the Neidhardt Collection Development Statement

History and Mission

The W. Jim Neidhardt Collection consists of an extensive library donated to Messiah University, and an endowment established in 1995 for its continued expansion. The collection brings together books in a wide variety of subject areas dealing with religion and science. Dr. Neidhardt's interest in finding new ways of relating his Christian faith to the thinking patterns of modern scientists led him to donate his library to Messiah University. Readers at Messiah may use this collection to explore the relationships between religion and science. It complements Messiah's tradition of fighting against the misconception of science being opposed to religion and demonstrates the relationship between modern  science and Christian faith. The endowment enables the Library to make annual additions to the Neidhardt Collection.

The Neidhardt Collection is closely related to the natural science and religion curricula of the university, and its historical pattern of exploring the complementary relationship between both. It is particularly useful in specific courses that cover the philosophy of science. 

Scope and Format of Collection

Items selected to be purchased with Neidhardt funds should be broadly related to the fields of science and religion, and should be useful for exploring these relationships. Preference will be given to items that are interdisciplinary in content. The items may present perspectives both within and outside of Christianity.

Items purchased for the Neidhardt Collection should be primarily print monographs but other types and formats of materials may be purchased as appropriate. Most items will be written in English to support the curriculum but other languages may be purchased as appropriate.

Budget

The Business Office is responsible for determining the annual amount of funds available for adding to the Neidhardt Collection. Librarians and faculty are responsible for selecting new  appropriate items for the collection, primarily through the Neidhardt Endowment Panel. If items are selected for purchase with Neidhardt funds but the funds have been spent for the year, the library may choose to either purchase the items using library funds, or reconsider the item in the next budget year using Neidhardt funds.

Processing and Circulation

Technical Services is responsible for cataloging the items and identifying them as belonging to the Neidhardt Collection. Items selected for purchase with Neidhardt funds will be clearly identified in the ordering process. Items in the Neidhardt Collection are stored in the larger library collection; they are not stored separately. Items are cataloged according to standard procedure, with the addition of a special subject heading of "Neidhardt Collection", and a 590 notes field stating "Presented in honor of W. Jim Neidhardt" for easy identification and searching in the library catalog. Items are marked with a commemorative bookplate, commissioned and funded by Friends. 

With few exceptions, this collection regularly circulates under the same terms as items in the Main Book Stacks. Clarification can be sought at the Circulation Desk or discussion with the liaison librarian.

Weeding/Withdrawals

Items from the Neidhardt Collection may be withdrawn from this collection and the library at the discretion of the liaison librarian. Inclusion of the item within the special collection will be considered as a factor against withdrawal, but does not mandate retention if other factors indicate a need for removal. The liaison librarian will consult with appropriate librarians and faculty as needed.

Questions about this collection can be directed to Librarian Beth Transue

Walter Jim Neidhardt (1934-1993) was born in Paterson, New Jersey and lived in Franklin Lakes and Cedar Grove before moving to Randolph, New Jersey.

Dr. Neidhardt was an associate professor of physics for the New Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark for 31 years.

He received a doctorate in Physics from Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken in 1962.

Dr. Neidhardt co-authored The Knight’s Move : the Relational Logic of the Spirit in Theology and Science, a book on science and theology. He was a fellow of the American Scientific Affiliation. He was a member of Sigma Xi and the Math Honor Society for Scientific Research.

From Daily Record (Morristown, New Jersey), 18 Jul 1993, Sun, Page 16

Visit Murray Library

Visit & Contact Murray Library

GPS Address: 2850 Crestline Dr, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Mailing Address: 1 University Ave., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Phone: (717) 691-6006, ext. 3860

Website: www.Messiah.edu/Library

Parking:

  • General visitor parking is available in the Old Main parking lot (VV), on the side nearest to the Eisenhower Campus Center (College Ave).
  • Handicap parking is located to the side of the building between the library and Frey Hall. This is accessible by going around the back of the library building (Crestline Drive).

Library Hours

Summer Hours
(May 9 thru August 22)

Open Monday thru Friday, 9am 5pm
Closed Saturdays & Sundays

Modified Summer Hours
Tuesday, August 16......12pm 5pm
Friday, August 19...........8am 5pm

Regular Semester Hours
(begin August 23)

Monday................8:00am 11:00pm
Tuesday...............8:00am 11:00pm
Wednesday..........8:00am 11:00pm
Thursday..............8:00am 11:00pm
Friday....................8:00am 5:00pm

Saturday...............10:00am 6:00pm
Sunday.................2:00pm 11:00pm