Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Hist 392: American Women

Search Strategies

For example,

  • wom*  > woman, women, woman's, women's
  • famil* > family, families, familial
  • revolution* > revolutions. revolutionary
  • biograph* > biography, biographical

Messiah Library Catalog  Search print books, ebooks, DVDs

EBook Central (ebooks)  Download, print, and read thousands of books right now

Interlibrary loan  Get books and journal articles from Messiah and other libraries. Articles can take anywhere between 12 hours to 1 week to arrive. Books can take between 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive. Postage paid shipping is provided to remote students.  This is a free service.

**In most cases, we cannot ILL request Dissertations or Dissertation Abstracts**

Reference Universe - Search our e-Reference books all at one time

On the Shelves: Call Numbers

CT = Biography

E = American History

F = Local U.S. History

F1-975 History by Region or State

HQ 1075 = Gender Roles

HQ 1101-HQ 2030 = Women and Feminism

Suggested Searches:

Women AND 19th Century AND United States   (or 20th Century, 18th Century, etc.)

Women AND Diaries AND United States

Women AND Sources AND United States 

Women AND Correspondence AND United States

--Diaries
--Correspondence
--Biography
--Sources
--Anecdotes
--Personal narratives
--Interviews

American Memory: Women's History - Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress

Best of History Web Sites: U.S. History: Women

Collections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921 -American Memory, The Library of Congress

Discovering American Women's History Online - An interactive US map of where women made their marks.  Click on a map's dot to take you to that digital collection. 

Discovering American Women's History This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Hellen Keller Archives

Historical Text Archive: Women's History  

In Her Own Right: Women asserting their civil rights, 1820-1920

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press - Digital material from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960’s to the 1980’s.

Margaret Sanger Papers

Oral histories, artifacts, exhibitions from the Smithsonian - searchable collections, including audio

Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America - Large collections of digitized documents, including papers of Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Blackwell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Dorothy West, and women's suffrage organizations

U.S. National Archives - Women - Lots of great ideas and resources

Votes for Women-Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - From American Memory, The Library of Congress

Women in the Labor Force: A Databook - Publication of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Women Working: 1870-1930 -Online collection from Harvard University explores women's impact on the economic life of the U.S. between 1800 and the Great Depression.

Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture - Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.

Women's Travel Diaries -  Diaries written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: History: USA: Women's History  

WWII working women (Oral history)

Important mass-market American women's magazines
Influential American women's magazines, covering much of the 19th and 20th century.  Offering insight into women's history and popular culture:

A good history paper is meant to:

-make a stand, argument, or claim on a topic

-have a single sentence somewhere in the first paragraph that presents your argument to the reader

-support a claim with evidence, arguments, and references

-make claims that could be debatable by others use past tense

-present a thesis that can be answered with something more than a "yes" or "no"

-anticipate and answer questions that a reader might have

-make the reader care about your topic by explaining the why and how

-contain your original thoughts, interpretations, or explanations based on what you learned
Super Helpful Resources

Fill-in Thesis Generator (This is awesome!)

Common mistakes and good advice

How to write a history paper

Make an argument

Joyce Antler

  • A social and cultural historian, with special interests in the history of American women; history-as-theater; the history of education, and women’s biography.

Ann D. Braude

  • American Religious History and women

Catherine Brekus

  • Female Preaching in America

William H. Chafe

  • Interest in patterns of race and gender discrimination in America

Nancy F. Cott

  • Interests in 19th and 20th century U.S. history focusing on gender questions. Her interests also include social movements, political culture, law, and citizenship. Her current project concerns Americans who came of age in the 1920s and shaped their lives internationally. Works on marriage and feminism.

Jane Sherron De Hart

  • Feminist Legal History and Twentieth Century Women’s History

Thomas Dublin

  • US Immigration and Ethnicity, especially concerning gender, industrialization, and working class history

Maureen Fitzgerald

  • American religious history, with special emphasis on immigration, race, and religious radicalism

Estelle B. Freedman

  • History of American women and social reform, including prison reform, as well as the history of sexuality

Eleanor Flexner

  • American women's suffrage movement

Cheryl Glenn

  • Female in education

Linda Gordon

  • Interest in Dorthea Lange and women's liberation movement; social policy issues, particularly as they concern gender and family issues

Darlene Clark Hine

  • Black women in America, post-reconstruction

Linda Kerber

  • History of citizenship, gender, and authority, especially before the Civil War

Alice Kessler-Harris

  • History of American labor and the comparative exploration of women and gender in the workplace, including wages and legislation

Regina Kunzel

  • 20th century Women's history, including prison, health, sexuality

Judith Walzer Leavitt

  • History of medicine and public health in America, especially for women

Gerda Lerner

  • Women's rights, abolition, and black women

Priscilla Pope-Levison

  • Women's Studies, History of American Christianity, Evangelism

Dana L. Robert

  • American Women in Mission

Nancy M. Robertson

  • Late nineteenth and twentieth centuries; American philanthropy; women; religion

Ruth Rosen

  • 20th century prostitution, public policy, contraception

Rosemary Radford Ruether

  • American Women’s Religious Writing

Londa Schiebinger

  • History of women working in science, medicine, and technology

Barbara Sicherman

  • Research interests include medical and psychiatric history, women’s biography, and the role of reading in women’s lives.

Kathryn Kish Sklar

  • Women's Rights and Transatlantic Anti-Slavery in the Era of Emancipation

Anne Firor Scott

  • Southern women’s history

Amy Swerdlow

  • Women in peace movements and role in abolition of slavery

Chicago Style Bibliography and Footnote Examples

Book Example:

Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.