Start here
Find the Right Books in the Library Catalog, Primo!
Library Call Numbers
- Ancient Art and Architecture: N5312-6250, NA 5620, NB 115-164
- Ancient Cities: HT 111-115
- Ancient Greece DF10-289
- Ancient history D51-90
- Ancient Italy. Rome to 476 DG11-365
- Ancient Judaism: DS 121-123
- Ancient Religion: BL 680-980
- Ancient state politics JC51-93
- Archaeology CC1-960
- Biblical and New Testament Studies: BS 500-2900
- Bronze Age, Minoan, and Mycenaean ages DF220-221
- Classical literature PA3000-3049
- Coins: CJ 75-1001
- Greek literature PA3050-4505
- History of Civilization CB3-482
- History of the Greco-Roman world DE1-100
- Jewish law. Halakah KBM1-4855
- Medieval and modern history, 476 D101-110.5
- Medieval history D111-203
- Medieval state JC109-121
- Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiquities CC135-137
- Primitive and Early Christianity: BR 60s, 128-250
- Roman Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography DG75-190
- Roman History & Archaeology: DG 1-330.
- Roman Literature: PA 6003-6945
Can't find it?
Let's order it: Make a recommendation for Murray Library to purchase. Fill out the form.
Interlibrary loan via WorldCat: Request books (5+ days) and articles (48+ hrs)
Perseus Digital Library Project Offers an extensive collection of ancient history sources including ancient texts and images of art objects, sites, and buildings.
Propylaeum, the Virtual Library Classical Studies Internet portal providing subject information across the entire spectrum of Classical Studies. A separate selection is offered for each of the following disciplines: Egyptology, Ancient History, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Byzantine Studies, Classical Archaeology, Classical Philology, Medieval and Neo-Latin Philology and Pre- and Early History.
The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls The Israel Museum welcomes you to the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project, allowing users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible.
Ancient History Sourcebook- a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
EuroDocs - Primary sources listed by location
Collection of early Christian texts - Making classic Christian literature widely available online
Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies - Resources for Late Antiquity, A.D. 284-632
Late Antiquity Bibliography and Resources
Early Church Fathers - 38 volume collection of Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers
Early Church Fathers - Additional Texts - additional pagan and Christian texts
- ATLA (Religion Index) This link opens in a new windowJournal for the Study of Judaism in the Persian, Hellenistic, and Roman Period (1970 – present, 5 year delay)
Journal of Theological Studies (1997-present, 1 yr delay)
Theological Studies (1940-present, 1 yr delay) - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowArchaeology (01/01/1999 – present)
Near Eastern Archaeology (2001 - present)
Church History (1993 - present) - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAmerican Antiquity (1935 – 2014) American Historical Review (10/01/1895 – present, 6 year delay)
American Journal of Archaeology (1897-present) Annual of the British School at Athens (01/01/1894 – present, 4 year delay)
Archaeology (1948 – present, 3 year delay)
Biblical Archaeologist (1938 - 1997)
Britannia (1970 – present, 4 yr delay)
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research (1945 - 1991)
Catholic Historical Review (1915 – present, 6 yr delay)
Classical World (1957 – present, 6 yr delay)
English Historical Review (1886 – present, 6 yr delay)
Greece and Rome (1931 – present, 6 yr delay)
Hesperia (1932 – present, 4 yr delay) Hesperia Supplements (1937 – present 4 yr delay) Historische Zeitschrift (1859 – present, 11 yr delay)
Journal of Hellenic Studies (1880-present, 4 yr delay)
Journal of Roman Studies (1911 – present, 4 year delay)
Near Eastern Archaeology (1998 – present, 4 yr delay) - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journals in all areas of philosophy as well as material on the philosophy of various disciplines such as education, history, law, religion and science.
Library Periodicals (Located above DVD/Music section)
- Biblical Archaeology Review (1976-Present)
- Journal of Early Christian Studies (1993-2001)
- Journal of Ecclesiastical History (1969-1996)
- Journal of Roman Archaeology (2009 - 2014)
- Theological Studies (1949-2013)
Go to Journal Search in Primo to access these titles:
- International Journal of Historical Archaeology (1997 - to present)
- Journal of Ecclesiastical History (1997-2006)
- Journal of Roman Archaeology (2013-Present)
- Journal of Theological Studies (1996-present)
- Journal of Late Antiquity (2008 – present)
- Ancient History Encyclopedia
- Ancient City of Athens
- Ancient Mesopotamia (K-12)
- Ancient Near East & Mediterranean World
- Anthropology Resources on the Internet
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
- Duke Papyrus Archive - Provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt.
- Egyptology Resources -The first (August 1994) Egyptology website on the World Wide Web and continues to be updated.
- Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg - A research project to integrate Latin inscriptions from all parts of the Roman Empire into an extensive database
- ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago.
- LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World
- Mesopotamia
- NESTOR (Aegean Regional Studies) - Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey.
- Perseus Digital Library
- Perseus Digital Library - Greek & Roman Materials
- Sources for Early Greek Writing - Database of inscriptions, searchable by region, script, date, and object form.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Reviews offers scholarly reviews of recent books in Roman studies. Also, run word searches through the archival search engine.
Images
- Egyptian and other Ancient Art (Arielle Kozloff Brodkey
- Art Stor - Ancient History - Click on "Art History Topics", then the numeral to the right of the collection name.
- Art from the Met (NYC) - 275,000 accessible/free images
Maps
- Ancient World Mapping
- Theban Mapping Project
- PELAGIOS: Ancient World Mapping
- FASTI Online - A database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000.
- Digital Atlas of the Roman Empire - Interactive map hosted by Department of Archaeology and Ancient History, Lund University, Sweden
- Women of Classical Mythology by
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BL715 .B445 1991ISBN: 0874365813Publication Date: 1991 - The Cambridge Ancient History byCall Number: D57 .C25ISBN: 0521224969Publication Date: 198211 Volumes
- Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world byCall Number: DE5 .L29 1999ISBN: 0674511735Publication Date: 1999
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization byCall Number: DE5 .O94 1998xISBN: 0198601654Publication Date: 1999
- A Guide to the Ancient World by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DE25 .G72 1986 REFERENCEISBN: 0824207424Publication Date: 1986 - Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988 REFERENCEISBN: 0684175940Publication Date: 19883 volumes - A Dictionary of the Ancient Greek World byCall Number: DF16 .S23 1995b REFERENCEISBN: 0195112067Publication Date: 1997
- The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies byCall Number: DG209 .O94 2010ISBN: 9780199211524Publication Date: 2010
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East byCall Number: DS56 .O9 1997ISBN: 0195065123Publication Date: 19965 Volumes
- Civilizations of the Ancient Near East byCall Number: DS57 .C55 1995ISBN: 0684192799Publication Date: 19954 Volumes
- Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens byCall Number: NA280 .T73 1980xISBN: 087817267XPublication Date: 1980
- The Loeb Classical LibraryCall Number: PA 3612The only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to our entire Greek and Latin heritage.
Call numbers for Latin authors begin at PA 6156
Call numbers for Greek authors begin at PA 3612
In the library catalog type Loeb and the author or subject you are looking for (e.g., loeb ovid) or (loeb plutarch) - Warfare in the Classical World byCall Number: U33 .W37 1980 Oversize (After Z section)ISBN: 0312856148Publication Date: 1981
- EBSCO Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- E-Book Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Your friendly librarian
112A
Suite 3002
Can't find what you need?
Let's order it: Make a recommendation for Murray Library to purchase. Fill out the form.
Interlibrary loan via WorldCat: Request books (5+ days) and articles (48+ hrs)
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window