Attention HDFS Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it.
Boundless provides one textbook that covers a variety of interrelated sociological topics including, Stratification, Inequality, and Social Class in the U.S., Deviance, Social Control, and Crime, Family, Aging, and Sexuality.
Introduction to Sociology, and Sociology of the Family textbooks.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of Sociology textbooks and resources.
Typical, one-semester introductory course textbooks
This collection offers a variety of various Sociological texts including, 'Understanding an Changing the Social World', and 'Social Problems: Continuity and Change'.
Over 5,000 titles available for free PDF download from the National Academies of Science. Search for Family, Human Development, Aging, etc. for a list of their books on your subject.
Noba is an open and free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials.
by Lumen Learning.
Human Growth and Development Galileo
Human Development - Different Perspectives
from Intech open
from Open Michigan
Human Growth and Development: Introduction to Human Growth and Development Notes
from Dept. Staff University of Michigan Medical School.
Human Growth and Development: Principles of Normal Growth and Development
from Brent Williams University of Michigan Medical School
Multiple open Source textbooks from OER commons
Health Across the Life Span: Frameworks,Contexts,and Measurements
Provided by JHSPH OpenCourseWare
Course includes: Full Course, Homework and Assignments, Lecture Notes, and Syllabi.
Free online textbook written by Ron Hammond, Paul Cheney, and Raewyn Pearsey.
The Body: A Phenomenological Psychological Perspective
Human Growth and Development Cotter, Fisk, Grissett – full text with syllabus retrieved from Galileo
Lifespan Development Lumen Learning – full online course with modules retrieved from SUNY OER Catalog
Immigrant and Refugee Families: Global Perspectives on Displacement and Resettlement Experiences
This text uses a family systems lens to discuss challenges and strengths of immigrant and refugee families in the United States. Chapters address immigration policy, human rights issues, economic stress, mental health and traumatic stress, domestic violence, substance abuse, family resilience, and methods of integration.
Lifespan Development: A Psychological Perspective
The textbook covers human development across the lifespan. It is presented in the chronological framework. Each chapter provides an in-depth look at that stage of development.
Covers child development from a psychological perspective.
This text is a presentation of how and why children grow, develop, and learn, covering physical, cognitive, and social development.
Hospitality and Culinary Management:
Covers aging, genetics, etc. From NIA
International Journal of Gerontology
Open access journal
Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
Open access journal
Information from the U.S. Census Bureau on baby boomers, the older (55+) population, and the elderly (65+) population.
Web site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. Provides links to multiple agencies that provide age-related statistical information.
Statistics from the Administration on Aging, including information on projections of future growth of the older population, disabilities data, grandparents, and minority aging.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Aging Data and Statistics
Data Sources for Research in Aging
The web site is designed to aid researchers in aging find cross-sectional studies, time series, contextual data, and other data relevant to their research.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)
NACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use.
Child, Family, and Community | Textbook
The attribution for this derivative is: "Child, Family, and Community" by Rebecca Laff and Wendy Ruiz, College of the Canyons is licensed under CC BY 4.0
Child Welfare Information Gateway
State Child Welfare Policy Database
Provides access to state statutes and publications related to child welfare, abuse and neglect, and adoption.
Child Welfare: The Child and Family Services Improvement and Innovation Act (P.L. 112-34) (CRS)
Description of the act written by Congressional Research Service (CRS) (non-partisan research arm of Congress).
Child Welfare League of America -- CWLA
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Includes resource lists and briefs that compile research on critical issues and link research to policy implications.
Child Trends is the nation’s leading research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives of children and youth, especially those who are most vulnerable.
Tufts University Child and Family WebGuide
Directory of credible websites on Children & Families arranged by topic.
Children, Youth, and Families at Risk
Children, Youth, and Families At-Risk (CYFAR) is a national initiative that provides funding for Sustainable Community Projects. CYFARnet's website evaluates research-based web sources on children, youth and family resources from leading universities.
Nemours Childhood Wellness Policy Workbook: Creating an Environment for Preschoolers to Develop Healthy Habits for Life (OER Commons)