Attention Engineering Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
Biomedical Engineering
An open access book published by MDPI, Mechanics of Biomaterials is a reprint of a special issue of the journal Materials in book format.
Wikibook - Biomedical Engineering: Theory & Practice
This wikibook is designed to serve as the primary text for a two semester course in biomedical engineering.
Inorganic Biomaterials - Discusses specific fundamental aspects of inorganic biomaterials and their biomedical and dental applications.
Computer Engineering
Computer Networks: A Systems Approach by Larry Peterson, Bruce Davie
Publication Date: 2019; What available technologies would serve as the underlying building blocks, and what kind of software architecture would you design to integrate these building blocks into an effective communication service? Answering this question is the overriding goal of this book—to describe the available building materials and then to show how they can be used to construct a network from the ground up.
x86-64 Assembly Language Programming with Ubuntu by Ed Jorgensen
Publication Date: 2019; The purpose of this text is to provide a reference for University level assembly language and systems programming courses. Specifically, this text addresses the x86-64 instruction set for the popular x86-64 class of processors using the Ubuntu 64-bit Operating System (OS).
Introduction to Programming using Fortran 95/2003/2008 by Ed Jorgensen
Publication Date: 2018; This text provides an introduction to programming and problem solving using the Fortran 95/2003/2008 programming language. This introduction is geared for non-computer science majors. The primary focus is on an introduction to problem solving and algorithm development. As such, many details of the Fortran 95/2003/2008 language are omitted.
MIPS Assembly Language Programming using QtSpim by Ed Jorgensen
Publication Date: 2017;The purpose of this text is to provide a simple and free reference for university level programming and architecture units that include a brief section covering MIPS assembly language programming. The text assumes usage of the QtSpim simulator.
Civil Engineering
-
MIT OpenCourseWare - Civil & Environmental EngineeringCourse outlines, syllabi, lesson plans, and assignments from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
-
Structural AnalysisStructural Analysis by Felix Udeyo is intended to teach students the methods and techniques for the analysis of structures. This textbook is designed for upper-level undergraduates studying civil engineering, construction engineering and management, and architecture. It is also useful for construction professionals seeking licensure in their field of practice.
-
Spatial Thinking in Planning Practice: An Introduction to GISThe goals of this textbook are to help students acquire the technical skills of using software and managing a database, and develop research skills of collecting data, analyzing information and presenting results.
-
Next Generation InfrastructuresToday’s infrastructure systems are rapidly changing, becoming more web-based, interconnected and transnational, while new technologies are on their way. This open course examines these challenges and includes case studies on sustainable energy, smart grids, and water scarcity.
-
Fundamentals of Transportation [Wikibooks]Transportation moves people and goods from one place to another using a variety of vehicles across different infrastructure systems. This book is aimed at undergraduate civil engineering students, though the material may provide a useful review for practitioners.
-
Introduction to Structural IntegrityThis short open course demonstrates how the study of safe design and the assessment of components and structures under load is of increasing importance in engineering design. The documents can be downloaded in multiple formats for use.
This book presents the various aspects of modern structural analysis, ranging from elementary continuum mechanics theory to advanced analysis using open-source software. It is geared towards practical engineering problems and attempts to cover all essential analysis considerations and techniques present in the daily work of the experienced professional.
Fundamentals of Transportation
This book is aimed at undergraduate civil engineering students, though the material may provide a useful review for practitioners and graduate students in transportation. Typically, this would be for an Introduction to Transportation course, which might be taken by most students in their sophomore or junior year.
Methods and Techniques in Urban Engineering
The objective of the book was to present works related to urban automation, geographic information systems (GIS), analysis, monitoring and management of urban noise, floods and transports, information technology applied to the cities, tools for urban simulation, social monitoring and control of urban policies, sustainability, etc., demonstrating methods and techniques applied in Urban Engineering.
Mechanical Engineering
-
MIT OpenCourseWare - Mechanical EngineeringCourse outlines, syllabi, lesson plans, and assignments from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
-
Mechanics (open textbook)This is a calculus-based book meant for the first semester of a first year survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors.
-
A Heat Transfer Textbook, 4th Ed. (2017)This introduction to heat and mass transfer, oriented toward engineering students, may be downloaded without charge. The ebook is fully illustrated, typeset in searchable pdf format, with internal and external links.
Please note that this material is copyrighted and not a "true" OER. The authors grant you the right to download and print it for your personal use or for non-profit instructional use. -
Beyond Lean: Simulation in Practice, Second EditionThe fundamental goal of this text is to show how discrete event simulation can be used in addition to lean thinking to achieve greater benefits in system improvement than with lean alone. Realizing this goal requires learning the problems that simulation solves as well as the methods required to solve them.
-
Sim Labs for Thermodynamics and Thermal Power Plant SimulatorThis Simulator laboratory (SIMLAB) book was created to provide ancillary resources for Thermodynamics and Thermal Power Plant Simulator courses. It is intended to act as a collection of exercises to help our students merge the theory covered in the classroom with the practice performed in the labs.
Environmental Engineering
-
Sustainability: A Comprehensive FoundationWith “Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation”, first and second-year college students are introduced to this expanding new field, comprehensively exploring the essential concepts from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities.
Electrical Engineering
-
MIT OpenCourseWare - Electrical Engineering & Computer ScienceCourse outlines, syllabi, lesson plans, and assignments from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
-
A First Course in Electrical and Computer EngineeringThe book covers some of the essential areas that are need to be included in a first introduction ECE course, such as complex numbers, phasors or linear algebra. MATLAB programs are integrated to illustrate key ideas.
-
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering IThis text focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means.
-
Lessons in Electric CircuitsA free series of textbooks on the subjects of electricity and electronics.
-
Electromagnetics, Vol 1Electromagnetics is intended for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics.
-
Fundamentals of Microwave and RF DesignFundamentals of Microwave and RF Design enables mastery of the essential concepts required to cross the barriers to a successful career in microwave and RF design. Extensive treatment of scattering parameters, that naturally describe power flow, and of Smith-chart-based design procedures prepare the student for success.
A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering
A good primary textbook by Louis Scharf (Research Professor at Colorado State University) that provides an introduction to Electrical and Computer Engineering.
ISBN: 9780997920192; Publication Date: 2018-08-17; Electromagnetics (CC BY-SA 4.0) is an open textbook intended to serve as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics, and includes: electric and magnetic fields; electromagnetic properties of materials; electromagnetic waves; and devices that operate according to associated electromagnetic principles including resistors ,capacitors, inductors, transformers, generators, and transmission lines.
Electromagnetics, Volume 2 by Steven Ellingson
ISBN: 9781949373912; Publication Date: 2019-12-13; Electromagnetics, volume 2 by Steven W. Ellingson is a 216-page peer-reviewed open textbook designed especially for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended as the primary textbook for the second semester of a two-semester undergraduate engineering electromagnetics sequence.
Fundamentals of Microwave and RF Design by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656892; Publication Date: 2019; Fundamentals of Microwave and RF Design enables mastery of the essential concepts required to cross the barriers to a successful career in microwave and RF design.
Microwave and RF Design: Radio Systems by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656915; Publication Date: 2019; Microwave and RF Design: Radio Systems is a circuits- and systems-oriented approach to modern microwave and RF systems. Two key themes unify the text: 1) how system-level decisions affect component, circuit and subsystem design; and 2) how the capabilities of technologies, components, and subsystems impact system design.
Microwave and RF Design: Transmission Lines by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656939; Publication Date: 2019; Microwave and RF Design: Transmission Lines builds on the concepts of forward- and backward-traveling waves. Many examples are included of advanced techniques for analyzing and designing transmission line networks with microstrip lines primarily used in design examples.
Microwave and RF Design: Networks by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656953; Publication Date: 2019; Microwave and RF Design: Networks presents the tools and techniques required to analyze and design microwave and RF circuits.
Microwave and RF Design: Modules by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656977; Publication Date: 2019; Microwave and RF Design: Modules focuses on the design of systems based on microwave modules. The use of modules has become increasingly important in RF and microwave engineering for rapidly realizing high performance microwave systems.
Microwave and RF Design: Amplifiers and Oscillators by Michael Steer
ISBN: 9781469656991; Publication Date: 2019; Microwave and RF Design: Amplifiers and Oscillators presents the design of amplifiers and oscillators in a way that enables state-of-the-art designs to be realized.