Attention MPS Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
Dozens of Open, scholar-educator created textbooks in mathematics.
Explore courses, textbooks, homework exercises and ancillary materials. Topics include: Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Number Theory, Calculus, and many other mathematical topics.
Lumen Learning provides textbooks for Algebra, Calculus, and Statistics. Click the Mathematics tab on the left to link you directly to these three textbook options.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
This is a great resource that provides textbooks on math and statistics.
A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.
Open SUNY Textbooks - Natural Resources Biometrics
Three textbooks offered such as, A Spiral Workbook for Discrete Mathematics, Introduction to the Modeling and Analysis of Complex Systems, and How We Got from There to Here: A Story of Real Analysis.
My Open Math--Open Textbook Store
Small set of textbooks designed for courses as well as free problem sets for practice.
American Institute of Mathematics - Open Textbook Initiative
This group has put together evaluation requirements and a review board to evaluate open textbooks & maintain a list of approved titles.
Statistics & Mathematics (Bookboon)
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. These books cannot be altered, but can be freely printed, shared, or embedded in non-commercial ways.
Mathematics & Statistics (Open Textbook Library)
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
Saylor Academy contains full courses, including syllabi, readings, quizzes, and more.
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
Mathematics & Statistics (Open Learn)
Open Learn is an initiative of The Open University, UK. It provides supplemental materials for educators, including articles, podcasts, videos, games, and much more. In addition, it offers more than 700 free online classes.
Mathematics & Statistics (MERLOT)
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
Mathematics (Applied Math & Science Education Repository)
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
Florida’s digital repository for instructional resources, which includes a collection of open textbooks on a variety of subjects.
MIT Open Courseware - Mathematics
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Fundamentals of Mathematics (open textbook)
This text will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master arithmetic techniques and manipulative skills. 11 chapters.
Mathematics - OpenTextBookStore (open textbooks)
List of commonly used open textbooks for mathematics: Arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Precalculus, Calculus, Math in Liberal Arts, Statistics, and Higher Math.
OpenStax Mathematics textbooks and instructor resources
High-quality mathematics textbooks and instructor resources for Pre-algebra, all levels of Algebra, Trigonometry, Precalculus, Calculus, and Statistics.
MAT082 – Basic Arithmetic OER (Scottsdale Community College)
Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2013. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 11 weeks.
MAT09x Introductory Algebra OER (Scottsdale Community College)
Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2014. Student workbook, worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks.
MAT12x – Intermediate Algebra OER (Scottsdale Community College)
Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2015. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks.
Adult Literacy Fundamentals Textbooks from BC Campus Open Ed
Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success.
Mathematics - OpenTextBookStore (open textbooks)
List of commonly used open textbooks for mathematics: Arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Precalculus, Calculus, Math in Liberal Arts, Statistics, and Higher Math.
Open Textbook Initiative - Approved Textbooks (American Institute of Mathematics)
OER textbooks approved by the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) Editorial Board. Categories include Liberal Arts Math, Elementary Algebra, College Algebra, Precalculus, Trigonometry, Calculus, Statistics, and more.
Open Textbook Initiative - Approved Textbooks (American Institute of Mathematics)
OER textbooks approved by the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) Editorial Board. Categories include Liberal Arts Math, Elementary Algebra, College Algebra, Precalculus, Trigonometry, Calculus, Statistics, and more.
OpenStax Mathematics textbooks and instructor resources
High-quality mathematics textbooks and instructor resources for Pre-algebra, all levels of Algebra, Trigonometry, Precalculus, Calculus, and Statistics.
Open Source Mathematics textbooks (Scottsdale Community College)
Free and openly licensed textbooks created by Scottsdale Community College instructor, 2013. Textbooks include Precalculus, College Algebra, and College Trigonometry.
Engaging Mathematics - Teaching Manuals for math and environmental issues
9 manuals with lessons, activities, and curricula developed through Engaging Mathematics on different environmental issues relating to math, such as Integrating Sustainability into Algebra Courses, Elementary Statistics Society and Environment, and more.
The mission of OpenIntro is to make educational products that are free, transparent, and lower barriers to education. OpenIntro Statistics includes a free textbook, labs, videos, and additional resources.
OpenStax Introductory Statistics
Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory.
OpenStax Introductory Statistics PowerPoint Slides
This is a series of lesson plans based upon the OpenStax Introductory Statistics Textbooks. It contains sections on Sampling and Data, Descriptive Statistics, Probability, Discrete Random Variables, Continuous Random Variables, Distributions, The Central Limit Theorem, Confidence Intervals, Hypothesis Testing, Linear Regression and Correlation.
Seeing Theory: An Introduction to Probability & Statistics
The goal of this tool is to make statistics more accessible through interactive visualizations. The authors of the site are also currently producing a textbook. These resources are free to access online but not open.
Foundations in Statistical Reasoning, 2019
"This book starts by presenting an overview of the statistical thought process. By the end of chapter 2, students are already familiar with concepts such as hypotheses, level of significance, p-values, errors. Normally these topics are not introduced until after a discussion of probability and sampling distributions."
Concepts in Statistics (Lumen Learning)
We organized this course around the Big Picture of Statistics. As we learn new material, we will always look at how these new ideas relate to the Big Picture.
OpenStax University Physics (Vol. 1)
University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics.
College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus.
Introduction to Electricity, Magnetism, and Circuits
This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigour inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
This is a calculus-based physics textbook meant for the type of freshman survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors, or for AP Physics C. It uses a nontraditional order of topics, with energy coming before force.
This is an introductory text intended for a one-year introductory course of the type typically taken by biology majors, or for AP Physics 1 and 2. Algebra and trig are used, and there are optional calculus-based sections.
OpenStax College Physics (Pressbooks edition)
College Physics is organized such that topics are introduced conceptually with a steady progression to precise definitions and analytical applications. The analytical aspect (problem solving) is tied back to the conceptual before moving on to another topic. Each introductory chapter, for example, opens with an engaging photograph relevant to the subject of the chapter and interesting applications that are easy for most students to visualize.
Includes “interactive simulations for science and math.” Can be useful for mathematics, physics, engineering, and other subjects.
The MIT Mathlets constitute a suite of carefully designed and highly interactive Javascript applets designed to enhance selected university level STEM classes.