Attention Bible and Religious Studies Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
The following is a list of suggested open access sites offering scholarly eBooks and eDocuments related to the discipline of Religious Studies.
This website provides free searchable online Bibles - verses, versions including NIV, KJV, commentaries, concordances, parallel, reading plans.
Full texts by religious scholars discussing the nature of evangelism.
Full texts by religious scholars discussing the nature of ministry.
Full texts by religious scholars discussing the nature of missions.
Download free Christian sheet music, song lyrics & chord charts plus midi files & mp3s of the latest gospel praise & worship songs for free.
Christian worship lyrics, tab, and guitar chords with built-in transpose tool.
Dedicated to delivering the latest news, features, editorials, commentary, archaeological interpretation and excavations relevant to the study of the Bible for the public and biblical scholars.
Open Library: Christian Education
Full classical texts by religious scholars discussing Christian Education.
Atla Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
The Atla Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative provides a freely available, web-searchable, central repository of digital resources contributed by participating libraries.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
"Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies"
Search the Bible in English, German, Swedish, Latin, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Tagalog, and Norwegian.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Digital Quaker Collection is a digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
The Internet Jewish History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks.
Internet Sacred Text Archive is largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.
Post Reformation Digital Library
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select bibliography of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.).
More than 6,000 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education.
Tyndale Seminary Christian History Reading Room
This page is designed to help make History of Christianity resources available to those without easy access to a theological library.
Web Site on Religion and Theology (open web site)
An annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources to the study of the Bible.
Vatican Digital Library (DigiVatLib)
Provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections of manuscripts and incunabula.
The digitized portions of the collection of the Leo Baeck Institute which is devoted to the study of German Jewish heritage. Contains manuscripts, memoirs, images, some books and periodicals, and recordings, including oral histories of the Holocaust.
Princeton Theological Seminary
Large digital collection of Princeton libraries' theological offerings.
Old Testament Dictionaries and Commentaries by Tyndale Seminary
New Testament Dictionaries and Commentaries by Tyndale Seminary
Publication Date: 2004
Publication Date: 2018
Religion Commons from the Digital Commons Network
The largest repository of scholarly works from higher education institutions. Over two million works from over 400 institutions. This link takes you to 37,905 full-text articles in the religion subject.
Theological Commons from Princeton Theological Seminary
The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 100,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books but also includes periodicals, audio recordings, and other formats.
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
This reference encyclopedia contains articles on the language and literature of Bible as well as its historical and religious context.
Introduction to the Old Testament (Hebrew Bible) - Open Yale Courses by Professor Christine Hayes
This Project is a non-profit animation studio that produces short-form, fully animated videos to make the biblical story accessible to everyone, everywhere. The mission of this Project is to show how the Bible is a unified story that leads to Jesus. While not official OER, these videos could be used in Bible courses, or could provide faith integration content for other courses.
Provides courses on the Bible and theology from top biblical professors. The courses are in five primary programs: Foundations (starting point), Academy (college and university level classes), Institute (graduate level), Leadership, Seminars, and other programs.
Digital Theological Library (Open Access)
A virtual library for theology, religious studies, and related disciplines
University of Texas at Austin site for Hebrew language learners. Includes video, audio clips, tutorials, and other tools.
Resources from Stanford for learning Hebrew, including video and audio clips, drills, workbooks, and more.
New Testament Greek at the University of Cambridge Language Learning Centre
Greek and Latin Roots: Part I - Latin