Attention Social Work Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for social work studies.
Open Textbook Library provides a textbook called "Instruction in Functional Assessment" that introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches (indirect, observational, and experimental) for identifying the cause of an individual’s challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments.
Open Social Work Education initiative
Open Social Work Education (OSWE) is a collaborative project dedicated to open educational resources (OER) in social work. Let's learn how we can be part of this movement.
Provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.
JURN's unique search engine provides access to free academic articles and books from selected university full-text repositories. Includes e-journals in arts, social science, biomedical, business and law.
American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare Webinar Series
Grand Challenges of social work webinar series by the American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare. Videos include topics such as "Stop Family Violence", "End Homelessness", and "Financial Capability and Asset Building for all."
Future Learn - Social Care Courses
Develop an understanding of some of the approaches involved in caring for vulnerable children, with this free online course or explore what inequalities are and how they can be reduced through health and social care
Open Learn Courses - Social Care & Social Work
Open Learn provides introductory to advanced courses on social work. Courses include topics such as "Homelessness and need", "Meeting minority needs", "Interview with a social worker", "Social care in the community", and "Becoming a critical social work practitioner.
Guidebook for Social Work Literature Reviews and Research Questions
Authors: Rebecca L. Mauldin and Matthew DeCarlo
This short guidebook provides information about selecting a research topic and research questions, searching for literature, reading and understanding scholarly writing, and writing a literature review to synthesize what is known and what remains to be learned about a social problem.
Foundations of Social Work Research
Author: Rebecca L. Mauldin
This textbook was created to provide an introduction to research methods for BSW and MSW students
Social Problems: Continuity and Change by University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative
Publication Date: 2016
Social Work in Africa by Linda Kreitzer
Publication Date: 2012
Social Problems: Continuity and Change-Open Textbook
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.
Living Wages Around the World
This manual describes a new methodology to measure a decent but basic standard of living in different countries and how much workers need to earn to afford this, making it possible for researchers to estimate comparable living wages around the world and determine gaps between living wages and prevailing wages, even in countries with limited secondary data
The Generational Welfare Contract
This groundbreaking book brings together perspectives from political philosophy and comparative social policy to discuss generational justice. Contributing new insights about the preconditions for designing sustainable, inclusive policies for all of society, the authors expose the possibilities of supporting egalitarian principles in an aging society through balanced generational welfare contracts.
This book revives the discussion on public social services and their redesign, with a focus on services relating to care and the social inclusion of vulnerable groups