Attention Philosophy Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
Logic
forallx: An Introduction to Formal Logic
forallX is an introductory textbook in formal logic. It covers translation, proofs, and formal semantics for sentential and predicate logic. There is no charge to use the book either as a text for a course or for self-directed study, and you are welcome to revise it to fit your needs. It is available as a free download, and you can make hard copies.
Inferring and Explaining is a book in practical epistemology. It examines the notion of evidence and assumes that good evidence is the essence of rational thinking. Evidence is the cornerstone of the natural, social, and behavioral sciences. But it is equally central to almost all academic pursuits and, perhaps most importantly, to the basic need to live an intelligent and reflective life.
This textbook is for introductory philosophy courses on probability and inductive logic. It is based on a typical such course I teach at the University of Toronto, where we offer “Probability & Inductive Logic” in the second year, alongside the usual deductive logic intro.
Carnap: A formal logic framework
Carnap is a free, interactive, and open software framework written in Haskell for teaching and studying formal logic.
A Concise Introduction to Logic
This text takes the unique approach of teaching logic through intellectual history; the author uses examples from important and celebrated arguments in philosophy to illustrate logical principles.
Problems in Argument Analysis and Evaluation
A new edition of Trudy’s Govier’s seminal volume, "Problems in Argument Analysis and Evaluation." Originally published in 1987, this was a pioneering work that played a major role in establishing argumentation theory as a discipline. Today, it is as relevant to the field as when it first appeared, with discussions of questions and issues that remain central to the study of argument.
Sets, Logic, Computation: An Open Logic Text
This textbook is based on the Open Logic Project. It covers naive set theory, first-order logic, sequent calculus and natural deduction, the completeness, compactness, and Löwenheim-Skolem theorems, Turing machines, and the undecidability of the halting problem and of first-order logic.
A Concise Introduction to Logic (Open SUNY)
Open SUNY textbook. An introduction to formal logic suitable for undergraduates taking a general education course in logic or critical thinking, and is accessible and useful to any interested in gaining a basic understanding of logic.
Introduction to Logic & Critical Thinking (open textbook)
Textbook developed by a community college instructor. PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Created by Butte College instructor, last updated in 2015. "Free online interactive textbook for introductory college level logic courses."
Philosophy Resources
The goal of this text is to present philosophy to newcomers as a living discipline with historical roots. While a few early chapters are historically organized, later chapters are topically organized.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic online encyclopedia published by the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University.
The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy
Course reader, compiled 2017, with "readings are from the original sources and that these philosophers were the originators of many of the issues we still discuss today. Major areas of philosophy covered here are: Ethics, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Socio-Political Philosophy, and finally, Aesthetics."
An Introduction to Philosophy (Bellevue College)
By Bellevue College instructor, 2015.
“Minilogic and Glossary” section sketches out basic philosophy principles; also includes a chapter on “Background to Modern Philosophy” with Aristotle and Aquinas. Rest of textbook has chapters for Descartes, Spinoza, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, and Kant.
Introduction to Philosophy video series
Wireless Philosophy series of 16 videos, ranging from 3 to 10 minutes each, 2016. Some videos are on concepts (“Epistemology: Argument and Evidence”) while others focus on philosophers (“The Good Life: Plato”).
General Philosophy podcasts - University of Oxford
Series of 41 lectures (each around 10 min.), 2010. Mostly seem to be focusing on specific philosophers.
Introduction to Political Philosophy videos
Open Yale courses. Links to 40-50 min. video lectures, transcripts, and audio versions. Includes Plato, Aristotle, Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, and Tocqueville. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Early Modern Philosophy Texts (primary sources)
Includes works by Machiavelli, Hobbes, Descartes, Locke, Berkeley, Kant, and more. Arranged chronologically by philosopher. All public domain texts
The Internet Classics Archives (primary sources)
Online collection of classic philosophy texts, with works by Aristotle, Homer, Hesiod, among others. All public domain texts.
Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind
Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind surveys the central themes in philosophy of mind and places them in a historical and contemporary context intended to engage first-time readers in the field. It focuses on debates about the status and character of the mind and its seemingly subjective nature in an apparently more objective world.
Sapientia: Open Readings in Philosophy
This text is designed for use in an introductory course on philosophy in a college classroom. It is organized into five parts, each for major branches of philosophical inquiry: epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, and political philosophy.
The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy
It is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries.
Wellbeing, Freedom, & Social Justice
Wellbeing, Freedom and Social Justice: The Capability Approach Re-Examined is both an introduction to the capability approach and a thorough evaluation of the challenges and disputes that have engrossed the scholars who have developed it.
This is a textbook (or better, a workbook) in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings.
Ethics
Introduction to Philosophy: Ethics
Philosophical ethics is the critical examination of these and other concepts central to how we evaluate our own and each others' behavior and choices. This text examines some of the main threads of discussion on these topics that have developed over the last couple of millenia, mostly within the Western cultural tradition.
Following the specification requirements of AQA and OCR, the book deals with Normative Ethics, then Metaethics and finally Applied Ethics. So guided by the AQA and OCR exam specifications, you will find various normative theories explained. You will then find those theories applied to real life examples. Sandwiched between these is the Metaethics chapter which asks: “But what is ethical practice?” Helpful student guides are included eithin every chapter including Common Student Mistakes”, “Issues to Consider” and “Key Terminology.”
Introduction to Ethics: An Open Educational Resource
This book focuses primarily on contemporary moral issues, from those in medical ethics (euthanasia, abortion, etc.) to how we should treat non-human things (like the environment and animals) and issues that affect society as a whole, like technology and immigration. There primary source selections that cover the theories behind the moral principles applied within the book.
Phronesis: An Open Introduction to Ethical Theory with Readings
This OER is a remix of Ethics for A-Level by Mark Dimmok and Andrew Fisher as well as selected chapters from the OER textbook Introduction to Ethics, edited by Noah Levin. Supplementing these chapters is a selection of topical primary readings.
Critical Thinking: Analysis and Evaluation of Argument, Version 2
Developed by Portland Community College team of instructors, updated in 2019. Five main chapters: Reasoning, Argument, Process of Argument Analysis, Argument Structure, and Deduction Basics. Google Doc format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.