Attention Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
The B.C. Open Textbook Project provides the textbook, "Complexities, Capacities, Communities: Changing Development Narratives in Early Childhood Education, Care and Development."
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
This resource provides textbooks on various education studies topics.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for studies in Education.
Browse a wide selection of textbooks on educational studies.
The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education.
Educational Psychology (CC-BY)
Emerging Perspectives on Learning, Teaching, and Technology (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Introduction to Child Psychology (CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0)
Educational Learning Theories (CC-BY)
OpenEDUC: Investigating Critical and Contemporary Issues in Education (CC-BY-NC)
Educational Psychology by Kelvin Seifert and Rosemary Sutton
Publication Date: 2011; Focuses on broader questions and principles taken from psychology per se, and the second half focuses on somewhat more practical issues of teaching. But the division between “theory” and “practice” is only approximate; all parts of the book draw on research, theory, and practical wisdom wherever appropriate.
Text covering the progressive psychological changes that occur in learners up to adolescence.
Educational Psychology Text from OpenSUNY
Teaching in a Digital Age: Guidelines for Designing Teaching and Learning for a Digital Age
From the Open Textbook Library. Authored by A.W. (Tony) Bates from University of British Colombia with ten reviews.
"In summary, the book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when everyone, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology."
Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers CC BY.
Short Guides in Education Research Methodologies - Short guides in common research methodologies, created by doctoral students
Introduction to Curriculum for Early Childhood Education (open textbook)
Open textbook developed by ECE instructors, College of the Canyons, 2019. This textbook focuses on how to effectively plan curriculum for young children.
Introduction to Curriculum for Early Childhood Education (open textbook)
Open textbook developed by ECE instructors, College of the Canyons, 2019. This textbook focuses on how to effectively plan curriculum for young children.
Child Growth and Development (open textbook)
Open textbook developed by ECE instructors at College of the Canyons, 2018. This text is a presentation of how and why children grow, develop, and learn.
Child Development (Lumen Learning course)
Open course from Hostos Community College via Lumen Learning. Organized into 14 modules, including modules for developmental needs, language development, infancy, and more.
Open textbook published by University of Victoria, 2015. The volume starts with an exploration of the concept of capacity building and goes on to focus on two examples of capacity promotion for early childhood education, care and development (ECD).
Open access book by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA), published by Springer, 2016. This study gives an overview of the current status of ECE in eight different countries.
Digital Personalization in Early Childhood: Impact on Childhood (open book)
Published by Bloomsbury Academic, 2017. This book focuses on children’s education and literacy resources. ... Research involving touchscreens, personalized books and 2-8-year olds is interrogated for its impact on children’s development of language, creativity and identity, as well as family dynamics and classroom dialogue.
Developed by World Bank Group, 2011. This Early Childhood Development (ECD) guide presents lessons and experiences that have been useful in informing the policy debate about ECD interventions and the design of such programs across the world. Global focus.
Introduction to Curriculum for Early Childhood Education (open textbook)
Open textbook developed by ECE instructors, College of the Canyons, 2019. This textbook focuses on how to effectively plan curriculum for young children.
Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy Research and Practice (open textbook)
An open textbook created by Open SUNY, 2016, updated 2019. The book includes chapters related to scientifically-based literacy research, early literacy development, literacy assessment, digital age influences on children’s literature, literacy development in underserved student groups, secondary literacy instructional strategies, literacy and modern language, and critical discourse analysis.
An Open Book: What and How Young Children Learn From Picture and Story Books
Collection of research articles fostering an interdisciplinary exchange of the methods that have been used to uncover how and what young children learn from books and the knowledge that this work has revealed that seeks both to demonstrate the breadth of information pre-reading children learn from books and to further our understanding of the mechanisms that support this learning.
Young Children’s Play Practices with Digital Tablets: Playful Literacy (open book)
Open access book created by Isabel Froes, published by Emerald Publishing, 2019. This book focuses on how young children play and have fun while indulging in digital worlds, discovering and problem-solving with a variety of narratives and interfaces encountered on these digital playgrounds.
Arts Integration in Elementary Curriculum: 2nd Edition (open textbook)
Created by Dalton State College instructors, revised in 2018. Topics include arts integration, music, visual arts, literary arts, performing arts, and physical education and movement. Lecture slides also available.
Music and the Child (SUNY textbook)
SUNY open textbook, 2016. This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children.
Foundations of Education (Lumen Learning course)
Open course from Hostos Community College via Lumen Learning. Organized into 15 modules, including Early Childhood Education, Multicultural Education, and Curriculum.
Arts Integration in Elementary Curriculum: 2nd Edition (open textbook)
Created by Dalton State College instructors, revised in 2018. Topics include arts integration, music, visual arts, literary arts, performing arts, and physical education and movement. Lecture slides also available.
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers (open textbook)
Written by Univ. of Hawaii instructor, revised in 2018. This book will help you to understand elementary mathematics more deeply, gain facility with creating and using mathematical notation, develop a habit of looking for reasons and creating mathematical explanations, and become more comfortable exploring unfamiliar mathematical situations.
Trauma-Informed School Practices: Building Expertise To Transform Schools (open textbook)
Created by George Fox University instructors, 2019. In this open textbook, the primary focus is on identifying and applying trauma-informed educator competencies needed to transform districts, schools, educators, classrooms, and the field of education itself.
Open textbook published by Univ. of Saskatchewan, 2019, designed primarily for teachers studying EAL (English as an Additional Language). Part 1 includes chapters on Supporting Newcomer EAL Students in the Elementary Classroom, The Importance of Culturally Responsive Teaching, Culturally Responsive Pedagogy, Intercultural Competence and the Inclusive Classroom, among others.
Trauma-Informed School Practices: Building Expertise To Transform Schools (open textbook)
Created by George Fox University instructors, 2019. In this open textbook, the primary focus is on identifying and applying trauma-informed educator competencies needed to transform districts, schools, educators, classrooms, and the field of education itself.
Open textbook published by University of Victoria, 2015. The volume starts with an exploration of the concept of capacity building and goes on to focus on two examples of capacity promotion for early childhood education, care and development (ECD).
Developed by World Bank Group, 2011. This Early Childhood Development (ECD) guide presents lessons and experiences that have been useful in informing the policy debate about ECD interventions and the design of such programs across the world. Global focus.
OpenEDUC: Exploring Socio-Cultural Perspectives in Diversity (open textbook)
Open textbook created by Univ. of Georgia instructors, 2017. The fundamental knowledge of understanding culture and teaching children from diverse backgrounds. Examination of the nature and function of culture, development of individual and group cultural identity, definitions and implications of diversity, and the influences of culture on learning, development, and pedagogy.
This Web site is extensive, offering activities and materials for just about everything related to ESL/EFL teaching.
Ohio University presents a well-organized Web site of resources for educators and students of ESL. In "Teacher Resources," educators can find links to bilingual sites, resource directories, and sites about technology, employment, testing and assessment, publications, organizations, research and lesson plans. In "English Student Resources," ESL students can find information and activities that will strengthen their skills in grammar, vocabulary, writing, reading, listening, and speaking.
This Web site has been designated for instructors, literacy practitioners, program administrators, and researchers. The site is deep in its coverage with links to all manner of sites to promote literacy.
A U.S. State Department website for educators who teach American English language and culture.
News, cultural information, and multimedia resources for English language learners. All content created by VOA is in the Public Domain.
Teaching Students with Autism: A Guide for Educators (copyrighted)
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Mental Illness (CC-BY)
Instruction in Functional Assessment (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Clearinghouse for Special Education Teaching Cases (copyrighted)
Teaching Students with Special Needs: Behaviour Management
In this course students are introduced to a wide range of methods and strategies for meeting the needs of children with behavioural and adjustment problems in regular preschool, primary and secondary classrooms.
The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.
This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Mental Illness
This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness.
Special Education: A Beginner's Guide to Serving All Students