Attention History Educators: Unsure where to start? Let the librarians help.
Complete the OER Search Request form and we'll start searching for you!
U.S. History II: 1877 to Present - Authors: Florida State College at Jacksonville and Cynthia Gardner Counsil
The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses.
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877 (Galileo)
This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double blind peer review.
U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses, from the pre-Colombian era to the end of Reconstruction in 1877.
This open textbook covers the breadth of the chronological history of the United States and the key forces and major developments that together form the American experience, with particular attention paid to considering issues of race, class, and gender.
Sage American History – Era of the American Revolution
This peer-reviewed open textbook is a comprehensive look at the American Revolution, containing links to primary source documents and other resources of this important era in U.S. history.
American History I: Colonial Period to Civil War (Gordon State College)
American History 1 covers topics ranging from the colonial period to the Civil War.
World History in the Early Modern and Modern Eras (1600-present) - Saylor
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500
Offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. It covers Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.
A project of the Yale Law School providing full-text access to documents from ancient history to today in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
An online textbook covering European history from ancient Sumer to the fall of Soviet-style communism in 1989. Includes extensive links to western civilization resources for historians on the Web.
Both a classroom resource and the largest collection of online texts, the goal of Fordham University's Sourcebook series is to provide and organize primary texts for use in classroom situations.
Medieval Europe by Saylor Foundation
History of Europe 1000-1800 by Saylor Foundation
Western Civilization: A Concise History – Volume 1
This peer-reviewed open textbook is about the origins of civilization in Mesopotamia c. 8,000 BCE through the early Middle Ages in Europe c. 1,000 CE.
Western Civilization: A Concise History – Volume 2
This open textbook looks at the early Middle Ages to the French Revolution in 1789 CE.
Western Civilization: A Concise History – Volume 3
This open textbook looks at the Napoleonic era to the recent past.
Yale Lectures: The Early Middle Ages, 284–1000
This open course looks into the major developments in the political, social, and religious history of Western Europe from the accession of Diocletian to the feudal transformation.
This hybrid textbook and open course is a comprehensive set of teaching materials for Western Civilization I (until 1648), created through at East Georgia State College.
Providing online history courses and guides for students to access and learn for their own enjoyment and educational purposes.
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.
Explore important events from ancient to modern times with online history courses from leading universities and cultural institutions.
The course 'World War and Society in the Twentieth Century: World War II' is a thematic exploration of the war and its time through feature films, primary sources, and scholarly interpretations.
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
Search for free history courses, inter-actives, videos and more.
The Yale Department of History encompasses the histories of Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and North and South America.
TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing - History
Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free and open online courses to anyone who wishes to learn.
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: usually out of copyright materials.
Ancient Civilizations of the World by the Saylor Foundation
Rome, the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire by the Saylor Foundation
Both a classroom resource and the largest collection of online texts, the goal of Fordham University's Sourcebook series is to provide and organize primary texts for use in classroom situations.
"The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill." Free maps are arranged geographically.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
This Harvard University Project provides free GIS mapping and analysis of Ancient Rome and Medieval Europe.
A digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity created by the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory (CVR Lab).
HyperHistory is an award-winning project that presents "3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, timelines, and maps."