Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interdisciplinary OER websites
Free online learning materials. Requires creating an account.
Free online learning materials.
Information for free online learning programs, degrees, and certificates.
Directory of open access books.
Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
Courses selected from within the general education categories… at a public community, technical, four-year college or university in Washington state
Higher education resources from Florida. Modules, texts, and tools in all disciplnes.
Ohio Digital Bookshelf
A pilot project of Ohio Textbook HQ that aims to provide quality textbook options for faculty and better learning outcomes, while also saving students money.
The Global Text Project
A free library of thousands of texts for undergraduate level courses in a variety of subjects.
Joint venture between the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia and the Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver.
HathiTrust and Internet Archive - Two websites that provide access to books published prior to 1923. These are in the public domain and are freely available (ex. Pride and Prejudice, On the origin of species, etc.). Full texts are keyword searchable.
The California State University
This site offers users the ability to search for free online materials that are similar in content to many popular textbooks.
Search thousands public books created on the Pressbooks Authoring & Editing Platform. The Directory includes public domain literature, CC BY open textbooks, and a vast variety of open educational resources (OER) published all along the license spectrum.
Provides a select number of OERs of their print titles. To be used for textbooks or general reading
Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible online teaching and learning materials. They can be videos, textbooks, quizzes, learning modules and more. Using OER in your classroom will improve student engagement and success, provide immediate, equitable access to resources, save money for your students, and provide you a venue to use flexible, high-quality learning materials in your individualized curriculum. This guide collects the best-of-the-best OER and organizes them by college and department. Take a look and see what is available in your discipline.
Tips for finding and using OER and other affordable content:
- There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit your students' academic and research needs.
- Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
- Use the resources in this guide to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points but if you are not finding the OER that work for you, contact your liasion librarian for personalized help.
- If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you to embed in an online course.
- Talk with your subject librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.
Rubric to evaluate OERs
iRubric: Evaluating OER Rubric
OER Search Request
For Messiah educators ONLY